Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This bread was wonderful. I increased the flour to 2 1/2cups and used 1 1/4tsp of yeast. It came out perfectly. My family ate the entire loaf with dinner and my 3yr old was crying because he wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
To me, this bread has the consistency of a foccia than a French bread. Use fresh rosemary (3x as much as dry) and fresh garlic. When hot, drizzle with olive oil and lightly salt with kosher salt. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I rated this bread a 4 out of 5 because the top fell right at the end of baking but all in all this was a great easy bread and very very very yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Tasty, light white bread. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This recipe, in my opinion, is another one that really deserves much more than five stars. Wow! This is a new favorite! I did pre-measure the 17 tablespoons of water and found that to be roughly 1 and 1/3 cups water. When the kneading cycle first started up, I found that I had to add about 1/2 cup to 3/4 of a cup of an additional amount of flour. (I did this slowly, about 1 tablespoon at a time.) Aside from that, I made this exactly as written and it came out tender and soft with an amazing crumb texture. For anyone having trouble with the dough not rising, as per some other reviewers suggested, it might be a good idea to proof the yeast first. Also, make sure that the water you add is neither too hot, nor too cold, as both will affect whether or not the dough rises. If it's too cold, the yeast will not be activated, and if it's too hot, the yeast will be killed. A good temperature for bread recipes that call for warm water is somewhere between 110 and 115 degrees. A thermometer comes in real handy for this reason. One last suggestion is to make sure that any salt the recipe calls for does not come into direct contact with the yeast. Always add salt to the liquid ingredients first, and always add the yeast last. Once all of the ingredients are in my machine, I make a small well with a spoon on top of the dry ingredients and pour the yeast into that well. I hope these suggestions are helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this bread! It baked up perfect. Crisp outside, soft inside. The flavor was fabulous. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We made this bread exactly as the directions said, and it was perfect! We served it with stew one night and soup the next. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Wow! A flavorful bread! High quality! I modified it by removing it before the 'bake' stage so I could have 2 French-style loaves. 20-25 mins at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This bread is perfetto! I used fresh rosemary, since I had some. I followed Grannyloohoo's suggestions and it turned out wonderful! Goes very well with (2-1) olive oil & balsamic w/ ground pepper. Also delicious with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Needed an extra 1/2 cup of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Mahoney

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States