Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I added at least 1/2 c more flour, as the dough was "soupy". It's still rising and smells good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent Bread! I am new to baking yeast breads and I don't have a bread machine, so I kneaded the ingredients together, allowed to rise for an hour, uncovered and let sit for about 10 minutes and then baked using other reviewers tips to bake with a tray of water on the bottom oven rack to create steam and then baked at 450 for the first 15 minutes and then 400 for another 15 minutes. It came out beautifully. The flavor and presentation of this bread is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I don't have a bread machine, and I really like to knead it, so I made it the old fashioned way. I doubled the recipe, and instead of adding butter, I added 1/4 cup (for 2 loaves) of olive oil. I was worried when I took it out of the oven because it seemed so hard on the outside, but once it was cut, the inside was nice and moist! Next time I would add more rosemary and garlic, since I used fresh instead of dried. I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic chopped fine, but it could have used a little more. This bread will be great with olive oil and balsamic vinegar! I will make it again with some modification like 16 tablespoons equals 1 cup, so 1 cup plus 1 tbsp. per loaf of water is what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
For all of you who say that the water/flour ratio is off. It is. When you use 1 cup+1 tbs (17 Tbs) there is too much water. My husband made this and actually measured out 17 Tbs and since there is always loss on the way to the machine it turned out perfect. Actual water should be just over 3/4 cup I think. If you can get this to work, it is absolutely delicious and smells SO good while baking. I would give it 5 stars if the measurements were better. It takes 3.5 hours in our machine, so know how long it takes in your if using for dinner or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Modifications + Oven = Rosemary Diamante WIN This is the best bread to come out of our breadmaker yet. We first made the dough in the breadmaker but baked it in the oven, with some modifications (some on purpose and some on accident). Modifications: 1) Flipping back and forth between 2 recipes, I accidentally added 2 T of butter rather than the 1 t butter called for in the recipe. 2) After rising, we brushed the bread with 1 egg yolk + 1 T warm water then sliced an X into the surface just before putting in the oven. 3) We used the breadmaker for the dough only and baked it in the oven. To bake in an oven, we: Followed directions on Dough cycle with 2T butter instead (delicious mistake in crossing recipes. Will repeat this mistake). Greased and buttered baking stone and plopped dough onto baking stone in round shape (was quite sticky). (Preheat oven to 450) Let dough raise for 45 minutes. Just before you put it in the oven, 1) brush with egg/warm water mixture; 2) make (quick, decisive) slices across the surface (for aesthetic purposes only); 3) grind sea salt all over the top of it (to make it a Rosemary Diamante). Baking: Followed suggestions from @GRANNYLOOHOO's comments and baked at 450 for 15 minutes with a pan of water in lower shelf, then turned down oven to 400 for remaining 15 minutes. Most. Delicious. Bread. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this bread I think the flour ratio is way off. I live at high altitude so it is drier here anyway and I still had to add a lot of extra flour. Bummed it didn't turn out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This bread was wonderful. I increased the flour to 2 1/2cups and used 1 1/4tsp of yeast. It came out perfectly. My family ate the entire loaf with dinner and my 3yr old was crying because he wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
To me, this bread has the consistency of a foccia than a French bread. Use fresh rosemary (3x as much as dry) and fresh garlic. When hot, drizzle with olive oil and lightly salt with kosher salt. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I rated this bread a 4 out of 5 because the top fell right at the end of baking but all in all this was a great easy bread and very very very yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Tasty, light white bread. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States