Rosemary Chicken with Orange-Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I picked this to use up fresh rosemary and was not disappointed. The taste was unusual but very very good. However, I simmered the liquid for a good 20 minutes and it never really thickened but still tasted great, so it didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Great meal for entertaining- served over white rice with green bean almondine. Chicken and sauce were excellent however we could not get it to thicken into rich glaze- had to eat as a sauce. Make sure to give time for sauce to thicken. Otherwise- fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
The sauce was way too thin and there was too much of it. The taste was only so-so. Would have been much better if it had actually been a "glaze". Maybe you have to let it boil longer, I don't know. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I forgot the wine, but made the sauce with just the oj and maple syrup. Wonderful, wonderful. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I really liked this recipe. Excellent, aromatic dish. I used dried rosemary and it worked fine. The sauce is thin, but it didn't matter. Quick, tasty recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
After I read all the other reviews I made a small change to the recipe. For a serving for four it calls for 1 cup of orange juice I cut this down to 3/4 cup and I held back 1/4 cup of the 3/4 cup of juice to be added later to which I added 1 1/2 Tbsp corn starch. Keeping the sauce at a medium boil for at least 5 mins before you start to cook the chicken and keeping it there until you flip the chicken then add the 1/4 cup of juice with the corn starch and boil another 5 mins. Then add to chicken. It thickens very nicely and is very good even my fussy 10 year old who hates everything liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I liked but my husband felt it was just too sweet. I used less OJ and thickened to a nice sauce. I'd make again, but it isn't guest worthy. It is good, but not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
After reading other reviews I think I see what's wrong with directions. Simmer the chicken and sauce uncovered, it will reduce to a lovely glaze that both looks good and tastes wonderful. I also used dry rosemary and it worked fine. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I gave this only three stars as half liked it, the other half didn't. I was on the side that didn't care for it much. I found it cloyingly sweet. Those with a sweet tooth will love it. The sauce was definitely too thin, so I used the other reviewer's cornstarch suggestion. Worked well. I may not repeat this dish--only if requested by those who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States