Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added 1cup cheddar cheese and 1/2-1 cup salsa(At the very end). Plus alternative spices, reduced the rosemary by half. Made an AWESOME dish ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was not very good, I used left over roasted rosemary whole chicken from the night before. The spices gave it a bland taste, with the absence of the chicken noodle soup flavor. I tried adding chicken stock but it was too late to save the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Sooo yummy! I agree with everyone about cutting back on the rosemary, 1 1/2 tablespoons should be more than sufficient. My mom is allergic to wheat so anytime we make soup with noodles we'll always serve wheat noodles and rice noodles on the side. Now, even when I'm not cooking for her, it's my favorite thing to do! No more overcooked noodles yay! would be very good with celery. I also buy a rotisserie chicken precooked anytime I have chicken noodle, it's always much more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fantastic! I made the recipe (almost) faithfully the first time, and it was very good. However, I did make a few changes the second time around that made the soup even better. First, much as I love rosemary, I did cut back by about half. I also added closer to 12 c. of water, and threw in about 2 tsp. of solid chicken soup base for extra flavor. Didn't have any penne on hand, so I used multi-colored rotini (which was great and added color and texture to the soup). Finally, I urge you to consider using boneless thigh meat in this recipe--soooo good! Not only does it offer a complex, gamey flavor, it's cheaper than buying breast meat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe G-G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good base recipe but like everyone else did I had to add about 4 more cups of water and I used egg noodles instead of penne. I also added some spices including poultry seasoning and a little celery salt. I think next time I will cook the chicken breasts whole and take them out at the end to shred them and put them back in the pot with the noodles and the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Not enough broth. Added more water and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
There was a lot of changes to be made to this. I initially followed the 2 tbs of rosemary only to find I had to fish out most of it after the first bite. I did folow the others advise and add more water. The hour of boiling was a lil excessive. So I cut down the cooking time drastically. I also waited till the very end to add the noodles, I don't care for my noodles to be mushy. 20 mins of cooking noodles makes a mush. I prefer my chicken to be a little browned. So before I put the chicken into the pot I put some olive oil and a light dusting of sugar in a pan and seered both sides of the chicken in that. It gives the chicken a nice brown color and an extra flavor to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful basic chicken noodle soup. Chicken broth definatly adds extra flavor. I will make this over and over. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I loved this recipe. I followed all the main ingridients but also made some changes. I added celery and more water (about 4 more cups). Since I added more water I also increased the amount of rosemary, thyme, garlic and onions (not by much though). I only used 1/2 a box of penne. I didn't use the 2 TBSP of oil I only added 1/2 TBSP of oil. I also added the juice of 1 sour orange. If you don't have sour orange you can substitute it with lime (to your taste). This recipe is great because it is healthy and all the ingridients used are without any preservatives and good for the body. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was a wonderful and easy recipe. I did make just a few changes. I used 9 cups of water and 9 chicken boulons for flavoring. I wanted to end up with 8 cups for the soup and figured that I would probably lose one during cooking. I used 4 chicken thighs and some chicken tenderloin. I love rosemary, so I didn't think that the taste was too strong. It was just perfect for me. I didn't use thyme, just rosemary. Be sure and put the lid on the pot while you are cooking your soup for an hour and to turn down the heat to simmer, or you will lose too much of your liquid. While the pasta was cooking for about 9 minutes I took out the chicken, cut it into small pieces and returned it to the soup. I served the soup with garlic bread. The flavor was wonderful. My husband loved it. Will become a regular dish in our house. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States