Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is one of our favourite recipes. We have been making it for years. I brown the shanks and then place in slow cooker. I cook veg and sauce until boiling and then poured ontop of shanks. I cook on low for 7 hours (or high for 4 hours.) So tender! I then remove shanks and thicken sauce with a water/cornstarch mixture. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is Lambtastic! The first time I made it, used half the amount of lamb and I halved all the other ingredients. It came out perfect. The second time I made this recipe I followed it exactly. I found that I ended up with way too much liquid. So instead of reducing down all that liquid I made a delicious risotto out of the extra liquid. It was easy. I sauteed some garlic in a pan, added the risotto rice to the pan and then continued to add the liquid until the risotto was done. I finished it off with some grated parm. The liquid that remained in the lamb dish was then reduced down to the perfect amount. I love this dish because I always have leftover red wine that I don't know what to do with. This dish is perfect for using up all that red wine that I hate to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
These are delicious. The only change I made was omitting the tomatoes. I wanted to intensify the "meaty" flavor, so I used a very rich beef stock along with the chicken stock. It worked. The sauce was almost like a demi glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was a wonderful dinner! To those who say there was too much liquid...be patient and REDUCE the sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
May I just say that this recipe is truly outstanding. Lamb shanks aren't easy to get hold of in the UK but it's well worth the effort of trying to do so - not least because of this particular recipe. I have done it about five times so far for dinner parties - including once for a Masterclass chef who thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm not a very good cook but this works so well that people seem to think I CAN cook! I'm writing this review now because I have guests for dinner tonight and I'm doing it again. I can smell it cooking right now and I've just been thinking that I don't actually want to share the contents of the pot with anyone! I want to eat it all by myself because it is soooo good. Thank you to S. Hodge who gave us this recipe - it's much appreciated. People think I can cook because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This is a classic dish for many reasons; simplicity, ease of preperation and excellent results that is sure to please. A possible variation that I have found to be excellent is the addition of capers, olives and dried figs. Essentially the same as this recipe with the addtion of apprxoimately 2 tbl spoons of capers, 2 cups of dried figs (halved), and a good handfull of black olives (15-20). Intead of tomatoes (or in addition to), 1/4 cup tomatoe paste that you cook in a moderate pan until it changes to a deep burgondy red, then add the stock and bring to the boil, then add to the casarol dish with the lamb etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Chop the tomatoes before adding. A little tomato paste also gives it a richer flavor. Make sure to cook down the liquid to a slightly thick consistancy. I tend to agree to serve it the next day if possible...the flavors meld in the sauce. Reheat it covered in the oven. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Recipes such as this are the reason that I love allrecipes! This is a superb dish. The lamb is meltingly tender and flavorful and the sauce is veltety and lush. I seasoned the meat with seasoned salt, pepper and rosemary, and let it sit overnight. I also used about 1/2 of the wine called for but other than that I followed the recipe closely. Thank you for sharing this restaurant quality dish. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Just had these for dinner. They were wonderful, quick and easy. I do not use wine usually and had a bottle that someone gave me for Christmas. It was great and all the alcohol is cooked out COMPLETELY! Next time, I will just use two cans of chicken broth and beef broth instead of the wine. I don't buy the stuff! Thanks for a great dish! Reminded me of all the home comfort food of my youth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Wonderful flavor. I got so much sauce that I'm freezing the 1/2 recipe or so I had extra and plan on making more shanks or stew with boneless lamb. I only had dried herbs, but they worked fine using 1:3 ratio of dried:fresh herbs. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States