Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Simple, tasty recipe. There's a lot of liquid in this but you'll need it to cover the shanks. I did put in only a 2 and bit cups of wine and it turned out great. I didn't put in a few more carrots and garlic then asked for. Be sure to reduce the sauce at the end, it may take a bit with all the liquid but you'll know hen you're there when the pot thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe!! My husband reluctantly tried it and loved it, we had it for leftovers the next night as well. I am not a rosemary fan, I know boo, but I replaced the rosemary and thyme with basil and fresh mint and it was to die for. I will save this one in my recipe book. 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUM! I made this with organic beef broth, frozen (left-over) red wine I had in the freezer and skipped the chicken broth, thyme and tomatoes and served the gravy over egg noodles with fresh steamed spinach but it was so delish I wish I had made mashed potatoes to sop up even more gravy. I think with good lamb shanks you can fool around with the ingredients quite a bit and it will still be delicious. Will be making again-- a great winter dish that warms the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was wonderful. Made the meat so tender..I also cooked a small beef roast with the lamb..it made an amazing gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I am an ardent lover of lamb and have just taken up cooking. I have never cooked lamb shanks before tonight and followed this recipe to the letter and the lamb turned out amazing! The meat just fell away from the bone and the flavors were in perfect balance. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmodelcitizen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was one of the BEST and easiest lamb shank recipes we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This had wonderful deep flavors! While a little on the rich side,served with garlic mashed potatoes it was a terrific meal! The only change I made was I bundled together my rosemary and thyme instead of chopping. Thanks for a great recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wow.. This was so amazingly delicious. I was confused on whether to French trim the lamb shank but opted not to since it didn't specify and I'm sooo happy I did. The connective tissue really freaked me out but I kept it on and it practically had melted away by the end and I'm positive helped the meat not fall completely off the bone and disintegrate... That tender. I realized at the last second I didn't have garlic and it still turned out brilliant. I only had two shanks but doubled the amount I needed for 2.. My fiancé thought it was the best lamb ever. Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Super delicious. Makes LOTS of sauce, which I saved for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Good flavor. I used should shanks and they turned out very tender. Just a weird, fatty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States