Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
De-------liscious! Loved this! The bride and kids also enjoyed it; it was definitely worth the added price of good lamb. The meat was heavenly tender and the aroma, yowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONPROSSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I agree with another's comments about being patient and waiting for the sauce to reduce at the end. It is worth the wait for it to boil down and thicken without adding any flour or cornstarch. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made this recipe four or five times in the last 6 months and it has become a family favorite. We have used lamb shanks and this last time I used part of a lamb leg. The shanks taste best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Tried this twice and was delicious much appreciated by my family ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Amazing! My purchase was of younger lamb shanks. Wish they'd been bigger. Recipe was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made a smaller batch and substituted sun-dried tomatoes (rehydrated) and used more carrots. Served it with rosemary bread to sop up the juice. Skipped chicken broth and only used beef broth and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I just used this recipe last week! I must say the lamb came out super delicious! It was my first time trying lamb and my husband's second time! I will admit that it is WAY too MUCH liquid in this recipe, but it does help to cover the meat in the pot. But afterwards I was like hey...what now with all this sauce? The lamb came out so tender (I used lamb chops instead of shanks). The lamb fell off the bone and the sauce itself complimented the delicate taste of the lamb very nicely. I reduced the amount of rosemary for it and added a few extra seasonings of my own. I dont like wine AT ALL, and even though I thought it over powered the sauce a bit, it still complimented those lamb pieces. All in all TRY THIS RECIPE! It really was delicious. I would use it at least one more time, but am curious as to what other scrumptous recipes I can find for lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The taste was fine but I was expecting a bit more from a 3 hour recipe. Just wasn't worth the time in my opinion. The lamb just blended into the background with all the other flavors. If you love the taste of lamb, this recipe probably isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
YUMMy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is by far the easiest and tastiest recipe I have even done. The only problem is how expensive lamb shanks can be but I live in Los Angeles and everything in LA is expensive. I wouldn't change a single thing about this recipe because I can't imagine ever doing anything that may change the wonderful flavor. However, the only suggestion I would make is that whatever red wine you choose it is best to pick a wine that is usually recommended with lamb. Not any red will do! In these reviews no one ever talks about the side dishes that would compliment a dish. So my recommendation is that you feature the dish with Italian Peas (as featured in allrecipes.com) and plain basmati rice. They are simple side dishes that compliment the flavors of the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States