Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I used a wonderful dry red wine called Chambourcin from the St. James winery in Missouri. I also used 2 14.5 oz cans of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes. For the broths, I used 21 oz of Imagine No-Chicken broth (a vegetable broth), and a tablespoon of Penzeys chicken base and a tablespoon of Penzeys beef base. I followed the directions exactly, and it was done perfectly. Thanks so much for sharing. I thought the amount of liquid was just right, otherwise the shanks couldn't submerge, and there wouldn't be enough gravy for the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This recipe turned out amazing. I made a few changes since I didn't have canned tomatoes on hand. I used 3 medium whole tomatoes and a can of campbells tomato soup. I also didn't have beef broth so doubled up on the chicken stock. I used Merlot as my red wine. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I really didn't want to wait the 2 hours of cooking (was so hungry!) but you really have to to get that flavour infused in. The husband devoured it! I served with rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
They were simple to prepare and better than we get at our local restaurant, even with my modifications. I didn't have any broth, so I added more water, figuring that the lamb itself would flavor the braising liquid, which it did. The smell of them cooking was incredible, they were unbelievably fork-tender and deliciously flavored. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My first time making lamb, it was amazing!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it, definitely what I'll be making the next time my parents come over!!! I also cut the recipe in half, and used whole tomatoes with the skin on, only because I could not get without!! A family favorite for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinnie B
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I used diced tomaotes - may have been a bit too tomato-ie for me. The meat was falling off the bone so tender. Served it with garlic mashed potatoes. A very good recipe - very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My family LOVED this. The best part is that you can serve this whenever you have everything else done and it will still be hot. The only thing I did differently was to take the lid off at 1.5 hours so the broth would boil down to more of a gravy. Absolutely fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this the first time i cooked lamb and for once i liked lamb! No gaminess at all! It was heavenly tender. I could cut it into the garlicky mashed potates with a spoon! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyjenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made these today. I was actually sick, so I propped my laptop open and had my husband do it. He followed the recipe exactly (halved, we did 3 shanks), and it was very good. If I had made it, I would have added more rosemary and thyme, and more spices to the sauce. Next time I will also add mushrooms. The meat was 'fall off the bone" goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Def a husband pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea.jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I loved this recipe. I had to substitute beer for the wine as I only had white wine in the house and didn't think it would suit lamb. I cannot wait to try it again with the wine. I also only used beef broth as I felt it would give a bit of extra body to the beer base versus using both chicken and beef. I can tell that the recipe as written will also be fabulous. My husband who is fussing about his lamb loved this too. I served with fresh baked rolls to sop up the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States