Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I decided to cook a surprise dinner for my mother-in-law's birthday. She had been craving the lamb shanks from Elephant Bar, so lamb shanks it would be! Unless you want the bone whole for presentation, a tip when buying your meat is to ask the butcher to crack the bone. That will add more flavor to your sauce. This was my first experience cooking lamb, but the recipe was super easy! You MUST be patient & let the sauce reduce...that is key. If you need to speed it up you can turn up the fire, but you have watch carefully & stir to prevent burning. You will see the difference as it thickens. I suggest if not all, use more beef broth than chicken for a richer taste. If you prefer a gravy, puree the reduction then strain it. Best served with mashed potatoes & your choice of veggies. I also suggest something lemony for dessert...I made a lemon-raspberry cheesecake. My Husband & Ma-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
One word "AMAZING". So easy i did the prep on the stove and then put in a crock pot overnight and slow cooked for 7 hrs the next day. So easy. Added a 1/2 can of tomatoe paste to thicken the sauce a bit otherwise straight off the recipe and again it was AMAZING. I will fix again. Served with garlic mashed potatoes YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I made this today in my croc-pot. It was really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Two Thumbs up! I've added celery, bay leaf, cayenne for a little heat, thyme and parsley a teaspoon each... used butter to thicken the sauce towards the end...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I use this for Greek and Russian Orthodox Pascha celebration meal *easter* and they all love it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Seared lamb in frying pan and then transferred lamb, wine and stock to crockpot on high heat. Boiled rest of ingredients in frying pan and then transferred to crockpot as well. Subbed beef bouillon cubes for stock and did not add water since other reviewers mentioned there being a lot of sauce. Added more carrots than called for, probably about 6 large ones (I used baby carrots as that's what I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I only used one cup of red wine, and omitted the beef stock. also, only used 2 tsp of rosemary. browned lamb in slow cooked in crock pot for 4 hours on high. the meat fell off the bone...divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My friends and I loved this recipe. The lamb came out very tender and the sauce went great over garlic mash potatoes. We paired it with parmesan and red pepper flake grilled green and yellow zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. Reduce Reduce Reduce the liquid. Cook it down. The longer you cook it the better. The lamb is beautiful. It's simple, follow and don't rush the recipe. It's a really good recipe MMMmmmmm! GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Marvelous. I never had the nerve to tackle shanks before. I always just waited to eat them in Disney's Cinderella's castle. It was easy to follow and it is even better than Disney's. just call it pride in the accomplishment . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States