Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is simple and delicious. I used lamb shanks the first time and lamb shoulder steaks the next time. Both were equally tasty. I also used a pressure cooker which shortened he cooking time by an hour and a half. My Italian hubby LOVES this recipe. Make sure you do the reduction at the end. FANTASTICO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
this was great I cut down the wine to a cup and a half,and the gravy was the whole show ,,it was so good..next time I will double the gravy and freeze the left overs...for a another meal ..prehaps for a chicken or beef dish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Wow. This would be great for a dinner party. It was an awesome recipe. Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I am making this tonight for the second time. The first time was for a dinner party. Everyone loved it! One person told me that it was the best lamb shank she had ever eaten. Tonight I have scaled the recipe down for just my husband and me and will serve it with garlic mashed potatoes. I can hardly wait for dinner! (The only change I made was to use dried thyme since our little town does not sell fresh herbs at our one grocery store and I did not have any in my herb garden.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Andrews Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have never cooked Lamb before and this was about as good as anything I have made. The flavours were outstanding and everyone loved it. There is a lot time spent watching over it as it cooks but it is worth it. When it came to the last step we were going to add a little flour and a couple gravy tricks to help thicken it up as it seemed it was taking forever to cook down but decided not to and followed the recipe. I am glad I just let it cook down, the sauce over the meat was amazing. I did not have enough Shanks so I substituted some Lamb Chops. Outstanding! The video was worth watching as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy and flavorful. Like other reviewers, I halved the amount of lamb shanks. 1 per person was a bit much, and would be pricey. I added bay leaves, fresh parsley, and potatoes and served this over high quality egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is INSANE!! I too used the slow cooker. I did half the recipe - cooked on low for 8 hours. It was so fabulous I was dreaming about it all night. :) Definitely going in the dinner rotation. It's a good one for company, too - so easy but tastes so fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lazar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Just made this tonight. Absolutely divine! Cut wine in half, left out chicken stock, and used only beef stock. Didn't have tomatoes but used 3/4 can of tomato paste. I did strain a lot of fat out of the gravy before serving, and added a bit of cornstarch/water mixture to thicken for mashed potatoes. It was rich, delicious, and restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
First time I've made lamb shanks. This will be my new recipe to impress! Wonderful! I don't drink so I used half cooking wine and half cranberry-grape juice and it was AMAZING. It added a little bit of tart sweetness that really gave it depth. I also made roast garlic mashed red potatoes and baked beets with carmelized onions and feta. I'm feeling pretty darn proud of meself! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy E. Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States