Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was excellent, and a wonderful dinner to serve guests. BTW, virtually all braising recipes like this one (or like Osso Buco for example) require that once the meat is done, the pot should be uncovered and left to cook until the sauce thickens and concentrates its flavor (this can take 30-45 minutes). Having "too much liquid" as apparently more than a few cooks did, is not a fault of the recipe but is instead the natural and inevitable result of braising recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I took the meat off of the bone and served over mashed potatoes to make it easier to eat. Next time I will let the lamb sit over night with rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper. :) A lot of liquid left over, but needed to braise the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really loved this recipe- couldn't believe I made something so heavenly!! Now a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. Definitely make more gravy, its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great lamb shanks My first time cooking them and they turned out perfect! I used a jackson triggs merlot and they were purple but tasted wonderful! The juices make a great gravy I just mixed equal amounts of butter and flour then added a small amount of watkins beef gravy mix then added the pan juices from the lamb and it was a beautiful meal:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I was very diappointed. I followed other people's advice and halfed the amount of liquid and it was still soupy. Won't be adding this one to the rotation. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good. I did, however, add 1 beef boulain cube at the end when I was reducing the sauce. I wanted a deeper flavor. There was a lot of liquid left-over and took about 45 minutes of boiling on high to get it down to the consistency I wanted. Overall, a great recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The lamb was flavorful and falling off the bone, and my guests asked for the recipe. I didn't have the "too much liquid" problem, either, except that my 5-qt Dutch oven was simply not big enough for all of the liquid plus the lamb shanks. I only used about 2/3s to 3/4s of what was listed. (My lamb shanks were on the large side.) I just boiled it down for about 20 minutes and it made a yummy thick sauce -- very rich. I used a zinfandel, and there was no overwhelming wine taste after the liquid was reduced. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
We loved it, great recipe for how little effort is required, you don`t need to supervise the simmering, just make sure the heat isn`t too high. Concerning people`s comments on the amount of liquid, you just have to boil the liquid at the end, and it will reduce, remember no cover at the end and boil on high. You can start off the recipe by reducing the amount of liquid, just make sure you have enough so the meat is submerged. If you are making for less people, then simmer in a smaller pot, and you won`t need as much liquid. I give 4 stars instead of 5 only because it isn`t the best lamb shanks I have had in my life but it is delicious, great served with polenta. will absolutely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Used lamb chops and they came out wonderful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States