Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
There are a few key steps with this recipe. You need to use canned condensed broth, and not add any water. When you are simmering the shanks in the pot for 20 minutes at the end without the lid, it should be a good paced simmer(you are wanting to start reducing the sauce). Depending on the size and depth of you pot you might need longer than 15 minutes to reduce the sauce after you remove the shanks. It has to be a real full boil, and the sauce should reduce to almost half. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was fabulous! I have wanted to make braised lamb shank for years. Finally decided to do it yesterday and used this recipe. Probably one of the best meals I ever made. Served over a portabello and shallot risotto. To die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great Sunday dinner! Made this for Easter & husband & I really enjoyed it. I halved the recipe & used half a bottle of merlot & a little more than half of each of the broths & still had plenty of sauce (boiled the heck out of it for about 30 min. at the end to reduce per suggestions). Also added a small package of sliced baby bella mushrooms in with the onions, etc. & they made the sauce even more delish. However the polenta I made was too rich for it. It's already a fairly rich dish so next time I'd opt for mashed potatoes or rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I cooked up this recipe this morning and into the slow cooker it went, I returned home to a mouth-watering aroma! As other reviewers have suggested, I browned the shanks, fried the veggies, added the liquids, let it come to a boil and piled it into my slow cooker. Although I halved the recipe as it is only my boyfriend and I and it was still perfect! The only problem is there is no canned broths (or stocks as we call it)available in Australia so I subsituted powdered stock mix and doubled the stock:water ratio to give it a bit more flavour. Also, I removed the lid for the last 45min so the sauce could thicken up a tad. A taste sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I let the liquid boil down a bit and then added a box of whole wheat couscous. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Very good....Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Excellent! sooo tender and the sauce was gorgeous 5* from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I just add about 1/4 cup of merlot wine and about 1/4 cup of spanish wine. beside that make as recipes indicates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was a hit! My husband loved it and said "it's a keeper"! Since we got together 3yrs. ago, I have been cooking him the best recipes I can find and this is one that I will try to cook for him often. I followed the recipe exactly and the trick here, like mentioned by others, is to boil the sauce on high for about 5-10 mins. It gives you a great sauce that you'll want to keep for dipping bread in it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinal, Texas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was absolutely amazing but I used a 3.5 lb leg of lamb and skimmed off as much fat as I could. Braised the leg, then browned the veggies, and boiled the liquids (burgundy wine) before slow cooking it for 9 hours. I baked cornbread and put a square on the bottom of a bowl and topped with the slow-cook mixture and topped with baby peas. My boyfriend thought this was To.Die.For!!! Thanks so much for such a wonderfully tasting meal. Already a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States