Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was a hit! My husband loved it and said "it's a keeper"! Since we got together 3yrs. ago, I have been cooking him the best recipes I can find and this is one that I will try to cook for him often. I followed the recipe exactly and the trick here, like mentioned by others, is to boil the sauce on high for about 5-10 mins. It gives you a great sauce that you'll want to keep for dipping bread in it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinal, Texas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was absolutely amazing but I used a 3.5 lb leg of lamb and skimmed off as much fat as I could. Braised the leg, then browned the veggies, and boiled the liquids (burgundy wine) before slow cooking it for 9 hours. I baked cornbread and put a square on the bottom of a bowl and topped with the slow-cook mixture and topped with baby peas. My boyfriend thought this was To.Die.For!!! Thanks so much for such a wonderfully tasting meal. Already a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was excellent, and a wonderful dinner to serve guests. BTW, virtually all braising recipes like this one (or like Osso Buco for example) require that once the meat is done, the pot should be uncovered and left to cook until the sauce thickens and concentrates its flavor (this can take 30-45 minutes). Having "too much liquid" as apparently more than a few cooks did, is not a fault of the recipe but is instead the natural and inevitable result of braising recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I took the meat off of the bone and served over mashed potatoes to make it easier to eat. Next time I will let the lamb sit over night with rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper. :) A lot of liquid left over, but needed to braise the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really loved this recipe- couldn't believe I made something so heavenly!! Now a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. Definitely make more gravy, its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great lamb shanks My first time cooking them and they turned out perfect! I used a jackson triggs merlot and they were purple but tasted wonderful! The juices make a great gravy I just mixed equal amounts of butter and flour then added a small amount of watkins beef gravy mix then added the pan juices from the lamb and it was a beautiful meal:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I was very diappointed. I followed other people's advice and halfed the amount of liquid and it was still soupy. Won't be adding this one to the rotation. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good. I did, however, add 1 beef boulain cube at the end when I was reducing the sauce. I wanted a deeper flavor. There was a lot of liquid left-over and took about 45 minutes of boiling on high to get it down to the consistency I wanted. Overall, a great recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The lamb was flavorful and falling off the bone, and my guests asked for the recipe. I didn't have the "too much liquid" problem, either, except that my 5-qt Dutch oven was simply not big enough for all of the liquid plus the lamb shanks. I only used about 2/3s to 3/4s of what was listed. (My lamb shanks were on the large side.) I just boiled it down for about 20 minutes and it made a yummy thick sauce -- very rich. I used a zinfandel, and there was no overwhelming wine taste after the liquid was reduced. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States