Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
So, so delicious! I hadn't had lamb in a long time and was craving it and found this recipe. This is very easy to make and using fresh rosemary does make a difference. The sauce is quite savory and if you have too much leftover, just use it the next day as a bruschetta topping or in your pasta! So glad I made this dish...I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Contreras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is so rich and delicious! I served it over polenta and added some chopped greens (chard, kale and beet greens) to the liquid during the last 15 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was absolutely divine. I didn't have any broth on hand, but beef/ chicken bouillon cubes worked totally fine. Served the lamb shank over 'Cheesy Polenta' (but opted to use Parmesan cheese in place of cheddar), and then spooned the vegetables/ sauce over top. One of those 'I can't wait for fall' meals that you will never grow tired of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Cooked 7 shanks using this recipe, but found too much liquid, even after hours of cooking. Cut down on wine amount would improve problem. Flavor very strong but tasty.Not small kids tucker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
A very "ok" (read: standard) recipe. Very nice, flavorful, cheap recipe. Love slow cooking cheap cuts of meat... you can eat like a king, with minimal impact on your pocketbook. Saved money can be used for important things such as: large screen TVs and beer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I reduced all the ingredients by half. Instead of cooking the dish on the stove I put it in a fairly shallow pot and put it in the oven at 350 degrees for two hours covered, followed by 30 minutes with the top off. Cooking it this way reduced the liquid enough so that it didn't have to be reduced further before serving. Much easier than cooking it on the stove where you have to watch it. anyway, Spectacular presentation, brown and gorgeous, served right out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I can't believe this tasted so good!! My husband said it's like something he would get from a restaurant. I didn't have any red wine so I used white wine instead. I would definitely make it again. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
There are a few key steps with this recipe. You need to use canned condensed broth, and not add any water. When you are simmering the shanks in the pot for 20 minutes at the end without the lid, it should be a good paced simmer(you are wanting to start reducing the sauce). Depending on the size and depth of you pot you might need longer than 15 minutes to reduce the sauce after you remove the shanks. It has to be a real full boil, and the sauce should reduce to almost half. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was fabulous! I have wanted to make braised lamb shank for years. Finally decided to do it yesterday and used this recipe. Probably one of the best meals I ever made. Served over a portabello and shallot risotto. To die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great Sunday dinner! Made this for Easter & husband & I really enjoyed it. I halved the recipe & used half a bottle of merlot & a little more than half of each of the broths & still had plenty of sauce (boiled the heck out of it for about 30 min. at the end to reduce per suggestions). Also added a small package of sliced baby bella mushrooms in with the onions, etc. & they made the sauce even more delish. However the polenta I made was too rich for it. It's already a fairly rich dish so next time I'd opt for mashed potatoes or rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States