Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I LOVED this! I just got a new iron Dutch Oven and made Julia Child's Beef Burgandy....so next HAD to be Lamb! I had 2 nice Shanks plus 2 nice thick bone in shoulder steaks. I pretty much went by the recipe but used org beef broth only, fire roasted tomatoes, 2-3 Tbs tom paste, 3 c of Shiraz, LOTS of garlic, carrots, onions...and folded lots of fresh rosemary/thyme into a coffee filter package I made and tied...bouquet garni. I put it into (covered) a 400 oven lowered to 350 and left it about 3 hours. PERFECTION! And by doing it in the oven you get a beautiful reduction. Thick flavorful sauce ....delicious!!! No need to thicken..does it for you! I made small red potatoes steamed and tossed in lemon, butter, garlic and parsley to go with...YUMMMMY!!!! Thanks for an easy and foolproof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tagfish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made them this weekend (with polenta and roasted asparagus) - and WOW! they were AWESOME, and very easy to make... Some additional tips: #1) Did steps 1 and 2 the day before and chilled overnight - made it very easy to skim off all the fat after it solidifies on top. #2) Reducing an additional half bottle of wine down to a few tablespoons and adding to the sauce during the last 15 minutes of reducing made a HUGE difference - tip from my chef brother. Will definitely be making this again next time company is over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was FANTASTIC!!! When you reduce the sauce properly it`s nice & thick. I followed the recipe as written. This is a keeper for my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was an amazing meal. The sauce was as flavorul and rich as any I'd ever made before. The lamb shanks were fall-off-the-bone delicious and it was all so simple to make! I made minor adjustments. I ground red, green and black peppercorns with sea salt and rubbed it on the shanks before searing. Whatever was left over i tossed in the sauce for simmering. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
out standing. great taste and presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made this last night and it was fantastic! My boyfriend specifically asked that I add it to my regular dishes that I cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
We made this exactly as written and it turned out great! This was both my husband and I first time trying out lamb shanks, and we both enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious. I only made 2 shanks and halved the sauce, but kept the original amount of veg and herbs. While reducing the sauce at the end, I threw the shank back in to get warm as my oven was cooking some potatos at the same time and everything turned out very tasty. By the way, I pureed the sauce a bit to encourage thickening. Thanks for the recipe and helpful comments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
this recipe came out fantastic... i changed it up a bit though. i add a bit of garlic salt and celery. also instead of using whole canned tomatoes i used fresh tomatoes and half a can of 8oz tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Good recipe for perfectly cooked shanks. The sauce turned out bland, good but bland. Turn up the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States