Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was the best lamb I ever had. You do come out with alot of extra sauce. I used 3/4 bottle of wine instead of the whole thing. I cooked it in the crock pot on high for 4 1/2 hrs. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
MY HUSBAND AND I LOVE LAMB. ONE DAY I FOUND LAMB SHANKS AT THE MARKET AND BROUGHT THEM HOME. I STARTED LOOKING FOR RECEIPIES AND FOUND THIS ONE. IT IS THE BEST!!! WE LOVED IT AND TALKED ABOUT IT FOR DAYS. THE SAUCE IS OUTSTANDING!! WONDERFUL FLAVORS. I SERVED IT ALONG SIDE CHEESY POLENTA. THIS RECIPES ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES. GUESS WHAT I AM MAKING FOR A FIRESIDE SATURDAY NITE DINNER? YOU GUESSED IT! ROSMARY BRAISED LAMB SHANKS. JUST A NOTE: MAKE SURE TO FOLLOW THE STEP TO REMOVE SHANKS FROM LIQUID AND REDUCE SAUCE. IF I KNEW THE CREATOR OF THIS RECIPE I WOULD, "KISS THE COOK". I.J. SELL VALPARAISO, INDIANA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I LOVED this! I just got a new iron Dutch Oven and made Julia Child's Beef Burgandy....so next HAD to be Lamb! I had 2 nice Shanks plus 2 nice thick bone in shoulder steaks. I pretty much went by the recipe but used org beef broth only, fire roasted tomatoes, 2-3 Tbs tom paste, 3 c of Shiraz, LOTS of garlic, carrots, onions...and folded lots of fresh rosemary/thyme into a coffee filter package I made and tied...bouquet garni. I put it into (covered) a 400 oven lowered to 350 and left it about 3 hours. PERFECTION! And by doing it in the oven you get a beautiful reduction. Thick flavorful sauce ....delicious!!! No need to thicken..does it for you! I made small red potatoes steamed and tossed in lemon, butter, garlic and parsley to go with...YUMMMMY!!!! Thanks for an easy and foolproof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tagfish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made them this weekend (with polenta and roasted asparagus) - and WOW! they were AWESOME, and very easy to make... Some additional tips: #1) Did steps 1 and 2 the day before and chilled overnight - made it very easy to skim off all the fat after it solidifies on top. #2) Reducing an additional half bottle of wine down to a few tablespoons and adding to the sauce during the last 15 minutes of reducing made a HUGE difference - tip from my chef brother. Will definitely be making this again next time company is over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was FANTASTIC!!! When you reduce the sauce properly it`s nice & thick. I followed the recipe as written. This is a keeper for my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was an amazing meal. The sauce was as flavorul and rich as any I'd ever made before. The lamb shanks were fall-off-the-bone delicious and it was all so simple to make! I made minor adjustments. I ground red, green and black peppercorns with sea salt and rubbed it on the shanks before searing. Whatever was left over i tossed in the sauce for simmering. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
out standing. great taste and presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made this last night and it was fantastic! My boyfriend specifically asked that I add it to my regular dishes that I cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
We made this exactly as written and it turned out great! This was both my husband and I first time trying out lamb shanks, and we both enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious. I only made 2 shanks and halved the sauce, but kept the original amount of veg and herbs. While reducing the sauce at the end, I threw the shank back in to get warm as my oven was cooking some potatos at the same time and everything turned out very tasty. By the way, I pureed the sauce a bit to encourage thickening. Thanks for the recipe and helpful comments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States