Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wow.. This was so amazingly delicious. I was confused on whether to French trim the lamb shank but opted not to since it didn't specify and I'm sooo happy I did. The connective tissue really freaked me out but I kept it on and it practically had melted away by the end and I'm positive helped the meat not fall completely off the bone and disintegrate... That tender. I realized at the last second I didn't have garlic and it still turned out brilliant. I only had two shanks but doubled the amount I needed for 2.. My fiancé thought it was the best lamb ever. Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Super delicious. Makes LOTS of sauce, which I saved for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Good flavor. I used should shanks and they turned out very tender. Just a weird, fatty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe is easy and delicious. It feels like high-end comfort food. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic. My brother-in-law, who normally does not show much emotion about cooking, absolutely loved this. So easy to make and after all the initial prep work, you just sit back and relax while the dish simmers. Extremely flavorful....can only imagine how much better it would be if I let it simmer longer than indicated. Would also like to try it in the slow cooker. As my husband said, this is a 5 star restaurant dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great flavor! I let it simmer for 40 min more with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Truly delicious- wouldn't change a thing! Our favorite lamb recipe-especially done with Cape Breton lamb. Equally good in slow cooker or top of stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is amazing! I've never made lamb shanks before, but this came out perfect, nice and full-bodied. My husband loved it too and was disappointed there wasn't more lamb. I followed the recipe pretty close, other than halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
UHHHHHHhhhhhooooommmmmmggggg. Need I say more. Just this, this cut is so expensive out fine dining and it's cheap, cheap, cheap at the grocer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOOD_DIVA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This recipe was surprisingly easy and the results were fantastic (see uploaded photo). To thicken the sauce and add depth, I blended half of the vegetables and garlic, then added that mixture to the pot first. After the blended veggies browned up, I added the rest of the dices vegetables and followed the recipe as written. The sauce was velvety and bold in flavor. The next day, we shredded up the leftover lamb and make a ragout with the sauce over fettuccine. This will be made again many times in my house! One more tip: top the lamb with a simple gremolatta (minced garlic, parsley, lemon zest) to amp up flavor and finish off the dish like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOOD_DIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States