Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is one of our favourite recipes. We have been making it for years. I brown the shanks and then place in slow cooker. I cook veg and sauce until boiling and then poured ontop of shanks. I cook on low for 7 hours (or high for 4 hours.) So tender! I then remove shanks and thicken sauce with a water/cornstarch mixture. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is Lambtastic! The first time I made it, used half the amount of lamb and I halved all the other ingredients. It came out perfect. The second time I made this recipe I followed it exactly. I found that I ended up with way too much liquid. So instead of reducing down all that liquid I made a delicious risotto out of the extra liquid. It was easy. I sauteed some garlic in a pan, added the risotto rice to the pan and then continued to add the liquid until the risotto was done. I finished it off with some grated parm. The liquid that remained in the lamb dish was then reduced down to the perfect amount. I love this dish because I always have leftover red wine that I don't know what to do with. This dish is perfect for using up all that red wine that I hate to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
These are delicious. The only change I made was omitting the tomatoes. I wanted to intensify the "meaty" flavor, so I used a very rich beef stock along with the chicken stock. It worked. The sauce was almost like a demi glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was a wonderful dinner! To those who say there was too much liquid...be patient and REDUCE the sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This is a classic dish for many reasons; simplicity, ease of preperation and excellent results that is sure to please. A possible variation that I have found to be excellent is the addition of capers, olives and dried figs. Essentially the same as this recipe with the addtion of apprxoimately 2 tbl spoons of capers, 2 cups of dried figs (halved), and a good handfull of black olives (15-20). Intead of tomatoes (or in addition to), 1/4 cup tomatoe paste that you cook in a moderate pan until it changes to a deep burgondy red, then add the stock and bring to the boil, then add to the casarol dish with the lamb etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
May I just say that this recipe is truly outstanding. Lamb shanks aren't easy to get hold of in the UK but it's well worth the effort of trying to do so - not least because of this particular recipe. I have done it about five times so far for dinner parties - including once for a Masterclass chef who thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm not a very good cook but this works so well that people seem to think I CAN cook! I'm writing this review now because I have guests for dinner tonight and I'm doing it again. I can smell it cooking right now and I've just been thinking that I don't actually want to share the contents of the pot with anyone! I want to eat it all by myself because it is soooo good. Thank you to S. Hodge who gave us this recipe - it's much appreciated. People think I can cook because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Chop the tomatoes before adding. A little tomato paste also gives it a richer flavor. Make sure to cook down the liquid to a slightly thick consistancy. I tend to agree to serve it the next day if possible...the flavors meld in the sauce. Reheat it covered in the oven. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Recipes such as this are the reason that I love allrecipes! This is a superb dish. The lamb is meltingly tender and flavorful and the sauce is veltety and lush. I seasoned the meat with seasoned salt, pepper and rosemary, and let it sit overnight. I also used about 1/2 of the wine called for but other than that I followed the recipe closely. Thank you for sharing this restaurant quality dish. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Just had these for dinner. They were wonderful, quick and easy. I do not use wine usually and had a bottle that someone gave me for Christmas. It was great and all the alcohol is cooked out COMPLETELY! Next time, I will just use two cans of chicken broth and beef broth instead of the wine. I don't buy the stuff! Thanks for a great dish! Reminded me of all the home comfort food of my youth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Wonderful flavor. I got so much sauce that I'm freezing the 1/2 recipe or so I had extra and plan on making more shanks or stew with boneless lamb. I only had dried herbs, but they worked fine using 1:3 ratio of dried:fresh herbs. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States