Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
YUMMy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is by far the easiest and tastiest recipe I have even done. The only problem is how expensive lamb shanks can be but I live in Los Angeles and everything in LA is expensive. I wouldn't change a single thing about this recipe because I can't imagine ever doing anything that may change the wonderful flavor. However, the only suggestion I would make is that whatever red wine you choose it is best to pick a wine that is usually recommended with lamb. Not any red will do! In these reviews no one ever talks about the side dishes that would compliment a dish. So my recommendation is that you feature the dish with Italian Peas (as featured in allrecipes.com) and plain basmati rice. They are simple side dishes that compliment the flavors of the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is outstanding! Time consuming but worth it. I served this with lemon roasted potatoes and brussel sprouts. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
my boyfriend absolutely loves lamb shanks and this is "one of the best dinners" hes had in a long time; and thats compairing it to his grandmas and mothers lamb shank dinners. I have made this dish many times and will continue to do so. Thanks allrecipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
wow - this was delicious! first time making lamb shanks too. i did not use beef broth, just chicken. i also put in a very small can of V8. i used almost a half bottle of Cotes du Rhone wine. (scaled down to 2) this was a fast, easy and tasty rich dish. served w/mashed potatoes. if i ever happen to make shanks again, this would be the recipe! thanks for the post S. Hodge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was so easy and I felt like I had made something restaurant worthy. Would make this again for company coming over. Great receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelljob
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
So tasty. I'm just learning how to cook, and this was super easy! Although, I think I need to get myself a baster. No matter how many shanks you make, I'd recommend using all the broth. Maybe pour 1/4 cup of stock every so often. I didn't have a lid big enough for this pan, so maybe the moisture was escaping. Regardless, it turned out so delicious. Definitely worth the wait. Though, I wish I would have had more sauce. It absorbed everything like a sponge. Also, I'm not a huge fan of onions, but actually wish I would have added more because the caramelized flavor was to die for. NOM. I'll be recommending this to family and friends for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelljob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PCJHARVEY
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCJHARVEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Cooked as advised by another reviewer in the slow cooker. Browned it first then covered it with the broth and cooked it slow and low for about 7 hours. Meat literally fell off the bone. Great Easter main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I had been looking for a Braised Lamb Shank recipe since I enjoyed the dish at the Ris in Georgetown. I never thought a recipe could come close but this is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States