Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
OMG! Delicioso! This is an exquisite recipe. I am on a diet and have lost 20 pounds so far. In looking for tasty recipes with ingredients my doctor allows me to eat, I ran into this wonderful dish. I cooked it and shared it with my son and nephews and it was an instant hit! And these are kids who usually don't eat lamb. They sure were introduced to it in a winning way. They now love lamb. I would have loved to thicken the juice a bit more, but didn't want to use any starches. Nevertheless, the young guys and I finish up the liquid as it were soup; it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I used a wonderful dry red wine called Chambourcin from the St. James winery in Missouri. I also used 2 14.5 oz cans of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes. For the broths, I used 21 oz of Imagine No-Chicken broth (a vegetable broth), and a tablespoon of Penzeys chicken base and a tablespoon of Penzeys beef base. I followed the directions exactly, and it was done perfectly. Thanks so much for sharing. I thought the amount of liquid was just right, otherwise the shanks couldn't submerge, and there wouldn't be enough gravy for the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This recipe turned out amazing. I made a few changes since I didn't have canned tomatoes on hand. I used 3 medium whole tomatoes and a can of campbells tomato soup. I also didn't have beef broth so doubled up on the chicken stock. I used Merlot as my red wine. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I really didn't want to wait the 2 hours of cooking (was so hungry!) but you really have to to get that flavour infused in. The husband devoured it! I served with rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
They were simple to prepare and better than we get at our local restaurant, even with my modifications. I didn't have any broth, so I added more water, figuring that the lamb itself would flavor the braising liquid, which it did. The smell of them cooking was incredible, they were unbelievably fork-tender and deliciously flavored. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My first time making lamb, it was amazing!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it, definitely what I'll be making the next time my parents come over!!! I also cut the recipe in half, and used whole tomatoes with the skin on, only because I could not get without!! A family favorite for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinnie B
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I used diced tomaotes - may have been a bit too tomato-ie for me. The meat was falling off the bone so tender. Served it with garlic mashed potatoes. A very good recipe - very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My family LOVED this. The best part is that you can serve this whenever you have everything else done and it will still be hot. The only thing I did differently was to take the lid off at 1.5 hours so the broth would boil down to more of a gravy. Absolutely fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this the first time i cooked lamb and for once i liked lamb! No gaminess at all! It was heavenly tender. I could cut it into the garlicky mashed potates with a spoon! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyjenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made these today. I was actually sick, so I propped my laptop open and had my husband do it. He followed the recipe exactly (halved, we did 3 shanks), and it was very good. If I had made it, I would have added more rosemary and thyme, and more spices to the sauce. Next time I will also add mushrooms. The meat was 'fall off the bone" goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Def a husband pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea.jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States