Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I am making this tonight for the second time. The first time was for a dinner party. Everyone loved it! One person told me that it was the best lamb shank she had ever eaten. Tonight I have scaled the recipe down for just my husband and me and will serve it with garlic mashed potatoes. I can hardly wait for dinner! (The only change I made was to use dried thyme since our little town does not sell fresh herbs at our one grocery store and I did not have any in my herb garden.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Andrews Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have never cooked Lamb before and this was about as good as anything I have made. The flavours were outstanding and everyone loved it. There is a lot time spent watching over it as it cooks but it is worth it. When it came to the last step we were going to add a little flour and a couple gravy tricks to help thicken it up as it seemed it was taking forever to cook down but decided not to and followed the recipe. I am glad I just let it cook down, the sauce over the meat was amazing. I did not have enough Shanks so I substituted some Lamb Chops. Outstanding! The video was worth watching as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy and flavorful. Like other reviewers, I halved the amount of lamb shanks. 1 per person was a bit much, and would be pricey. I added bay leaves, fresh parsley, and potatoes and served this over high quality egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is INSANE!! I too used the slow cooker. I did half the recipe - cooked on low for 8 hours. It was so fabulous I was dreaming about it all night. :) Definitely going in the dinner rotation. It's a good one for company, too - so easy but tastes so fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Just made this tonight. Absolutely divine! Cut wine in half, left out chicken stock, and used only beef stock. Didn't have tomatoes but used 3/4 can of tomato paste. I did strain a lot of fat out of the gravy before serving, and added a bit of cornstarch/water mixture to thicken for mashed potatoes. It was rich, delicious, and restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
First time I've made lamb shanks. This will be my new recipe to impress! Wonderful! I don't drink so I used half cooking wine and half cranberry-grape juice and it was AMAZING. It added a little bit of tart sweetness that really gave it depth. I also made roast garlic mashed red potatoes and baked beets with carmelized onions and feta. I'm feeling pretty darn proud of meself! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I decided to cook a surprise dinner for my mother-in-law's birthday. She had been craving the lamb shanks from Elephant Bar, so lamb shanks it would be! Unless you want the bone whole for presentation, a tip when buying your meat is to ask the butcher to crack the bone. That will add more flavor to your sauce. This was my first experience cooking lamb, but the recipe was super easy! You MUST be patient & let the sauce reduce...that is key. If you need to speed it up you can turn up the fire, but you have watch carefully & stir to prevent burning. You will see the difference as it thickens. I suggest if not all, use more beef broth than chicken for a richer taste. If you prefer a gravy, puree the reduction then strain it. Best served with mashed potatoes & your choice of veggies. I also suggest something lemony for dessert...I made a lemon-raspberry cheesecake. My Husband & Ma-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
One word "AMAZING". So easy i did the prep on the stove and then put in a crock pot overnight and slow cooked for 7 hrs the next day. So easy. Added a 1/2 can of tomatoe paste to thicken the sauce a bit otherwise straight off the recipe and again it was AMAZING. I will fix again. Served with garlic mashed potatoes YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I made this today in my croc-pot. It was really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States