Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I cooked up this recipe this morning and into the slow cooker it went, I returned home to a mouth-watering aroma! As other reviewers have suggested, I browned the shanks, fried the veggies, added the liquids, let it come to a boil and piled it into my slow cooker. Although I halved the recipe as it is only my boyfriend and I and it was still perfect! The only problem is there is no canned broths (or stocks as we call it)available in Australia so I subsituted powdered stock mix and doubled the stock:water ratio to give it a bit more flavour. Also, I removed the lid for the last 45min so the sauce could thicken up a tad. A taste sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I let the liquid boil down a bit and then added a box of whole wheat couscous. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Very good....Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Excellent! sooo tender and the sauce was gorgeous 5* from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I just add about 1/4 cup of merlot wine and about 1/4 cup of spanish wine. beside that make as recipes indicates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was a hit! My husband loved it and said "it's a keeper"! Since we got together 3yrs. ago, I have been cooking him the best recipes I can find and this is one that I will try to cook for him often. I followed the recipe exactly and the trick here, like mentioned by others, is to boil the sauce on high for about 5-10 mins. It gives you a great sauce that you'll want to keep for dipping bread in it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinal, Texas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was absolutely amazing but I used a 3.5 lb leg of lamb and skimmed off as much fat as I could. Braised the leg, then browned the veggies, and boiled the liquids (burgundy wine) before slow cooking it for 9 hours. I baked cornbread and put a square on the bottom of a bowl and topped with the slow-cook mixture and topped with baby peas. My boyfriend thought this was To.Die.For!!! Thanks so much for such a wonderfully tasting meal. Already a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was excellent, and a wonderful dinner to serve guests. BTW, virtually all braising recipes like this one (or like Osso Buco for example) require that once the meat is done, the pot should be uncovered and left to cook until the sauce thickens and concentrates its flavor (this can take 30-45 minutes). Having "too much liquid" as apparently more than a few cooks did, is not a fault of the recipe but is instead the natural and inevitable result of braising recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I took the meat off of the bone and served over mashed potatoes to make it easier to eat. Next time I will let the lamb sit over night with rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper. :) A lot of liquid left over, but needed to braise the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really loved this recipe- couldn't believe I made something so heavenly!! Now a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States