Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Margaret
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This entree took 3 hours to make including prep. It was the best I've ever had. Reduced recipe to serve 2. Used entire cans of broth so it could be submerged. Also added a couple leaves of fresh basil, used fresh peeled, med size tomatos extra rosemary and garlic powder. Simmered with 1/3 can of tomato paste and when reducing liquid at the end, added the rest of the paste. This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Girl friend and I loved the flavor.Only change I made was I used tomatoes with spicy red pepper.(what I had on hand).Will make again for guests...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Everyone loved indulging in this rich meaty dish. It turned out wonderful, although next I will try with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow! Excellent dish. My parents came over for dinner tonight and were very impressed. I gave my mom the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner and it was delicious, but I adore lamb. The American lamb skeptics were even impressed. It takes a good half hour of reducing the sauce at medium temperature after the shanks are removed from the pot, but the reduction makes a wonderful sauce. This is not difficult to make but the presentation is lovely. I served with potatoes and "Onions baked with rosemary and cream" from this site. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely amazing!! Such a nice simple recipe with wonderfully balanced flavors. I cut the recipe in half and used a can of diced tomatoes and added whole mushrooms. I browned the shanks in olive oil and then put those in my slow cooker and sauteed the onions, garlic and carrots in the lamb fat. Those went into the slow cooker as well and all the other ingredients followed. I also threw in a Tbsp of brown sugar to balance the acidity of the wine. I used a good dry cabernet sauvignon which was perfect. On the advice of another cook I let the shanks sit overnite in the fridge and reheated the next day. I was able to skim off some of the fat and reduced the sauce and thickened with cornstarch. Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. So wonderful..amazing comfort food! The meat just fell off the bone and had such a deep flavor from the wine and rosemary I cleaned my plate! This recipe is awesome because it's simple, easy and absolutely delicious!!! Toss it in the slow cooker on low and 7 hours later it's beautiful. The whole house smelled great too! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
so good and tender. i cooked it in the slow cooker for around 5 or 6 hours... i only cooked 2 and made about 2/3 of the broth... it was delicious. however, there was almost too much sauce and i had nothing to do with it after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was the best recipe I have tried in a long time. I wish I had a freezer full of lamb shanks so I can eat this every week! This is the first time I have ever been compelled to review an online recipe. Thanks to the person who posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This dish was fantastic and very easy to make. I only wanted to cook 2 shanks so after reading others reviews regarding sauce too thin i reduced the amount of wine and the liquid of the broth. I used 1/3 of a bottle of Isla Negra red wine, and i used a small 28g Knorr concentrated beefstock pot rather than the broth as i was cooking in a slowcooker so more moisture /liquid would be created I also used chopped rather than plum tomatoes. I did not salt the lamb as i knew the stockpot would season the dish, i left out the carrots as i dont like carrots greatly and felt they would reduce the elegance of the overall dish, as lamb in England is expensive so this was a more special than everyday dish. I browned the lamb then placed in the slowcooker, i then added all the ingredients to the pan brought to the boil then poured over the lamb. I cooked them in the slow cooker for 5 and 1/2 hours stirring the sauce once. Once ready the meat was dropping off the bone it was so tender and the sauce needed no additional work at all it had thickened perfectly, we like a lot of sauce but i had enough for at least 4 servings but i would not have wanted to cook the meat in any less than i had. These were the only alterations i made and i served the lamb with peeled garlic mashed potatoes with added creme fraiche and butter and fine green beans. Would be great with leg of lamb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States