Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
this recipe came out fantastic... i changed it up a bit though. i add a bit of garlic salt and celery. also instead of using whole canned tomatoes i used fresh tomatoes and half a can of 8oz tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Good recipe for perfectly cooked shanks. The sauce turned out bland, good but bland. Turn up the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margaret
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This entree took 3 hours to make including prep. It was the best I've ever had. Reduced recipe to serve 2. Used entire cans of broth so it could be submerged. Also added a couple leaves of fresh basil, used fresh peeled, med size tomatos extra rosemary and garlic powder. Simmered with 1/3 can of tomato paste and when reducing liquid at the end, added the rest of the paste. This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Girl friend and I loved the flavor.Only change I made was I used tomatoes with spicy red pepper.(what I had on hand).Will make again for guests...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Everyone loved indulging in this rich meaty dish. It turned out wonderful, although next I will try with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow! Excellent dish. My parents came over for dinner tonight and were very impressed. I gave my mom the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner and it was delicious, but I adore lamb. The American lamb skeptics were even impressed. It takes a good half hour of reducing the sauce at medium temperature after the shanks are removed from the pot, but the reduction makes a wonderful sauce. This is not difficult to make but the presentation is lovely. I served with potatoes and "Onions baked with rosemary and cream" from this site. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely amazing!! Such a nice simple recipe with wonderfully balanced flavors. I cut the recipe in half and used a can of diced tomatoes and added whole mushrooms. I browned the shanks in olive oil and then put those in my slow cooker and sauteed the onions, garlic and carrots in the lamb fat. Those went into the slow cooker as well and all the other ingredients followed. I also threw in a Tbsp of brown sugar to balance the acidity of the wine. I used a good dry cabernet sauvignon which was perfect. On the advice of another cook I let the shanks sit overnite in the fridge and reheated the next day. I was able to skim off some of the fat and reduced the sauce and thickened with cornstarch. Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. So wonderful..amazing comfort food! The meat just fell off the bone and had such a deep flavor from the wine and rosemary I cleaned my plate! This recipe is awesome because it's simple, easy and absolutely delicious!!! Toss it in the slow cooker on low and 7 hours later it's beautiful. The whole house smelled great too! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
so good and tender. i cooked it in the slow cooker for around 5 or 6 hours... i only cooked 2 and made about 2/3 of the broth... it was delicious. however, there was almost too much sauce and i had nothing to do with it after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was the best recipe I have tried in a long time. I wish I had a freezer full of lamb shanks so I can eat this every week! This is the first time I have ever been compelled to review an online recipe. Thanks to the person who posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States