Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe is easy and delicious. It feels like high-end comfort food. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic. My brother-in-law, who normally does not show much emotion about cooking, absolutely loved this. So easy to make and after all the initial prep work, you just sit back and relax while the dish simmers. Extremely flavorful....can only imagine how much better it would be if I let it simmer longer than indicated. Would also like to try it in the slow cooker. As my husband said, this is a 5 star restaurant dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great flavor! I let it simmer for 40 min more with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Truly delicious- wouldn't change a thing! Our favorite lamb recipe-especially done with Cape Breton lamb. Equally good in slow cooker or top of stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is amazing! I've never made lamb shanks before, but this came out perfect, nice and full-bodied. My husband loved it too and was disappointed there wasn't more lamb. I followed the recipe pretty close, other than halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
UHHHHHHhhhhhooooommmmmmggggg. Need I say more. Just this, this cut is so expensive out fine dining and it's cheap, cheap, cheap at the grocer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOOD_DIVA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This recipe was surprisingly easy and the results were fantastic (see uploaded photo). To thicken the sauce and add depth, I blended half of the vegetables and garlic, then added that mixture to the pot first. After the blended veggies browned up, I added the rest of the dices vegetables and followed the recipe as written. The sauce was velvety and bold in flavor. The next day, we shredded up the leftover lamb and make a ragout with the sauce over fettuccine. This will be made again many times in my house! One more tip: top the lamb with a simple gremolatta (minced garlic, parsley, lemon zest) to amp up flavor and finish off the dish like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOOD_DIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
delicious. very slow but very easy. scents the home wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have always made Lamb Shanks in a similar manner. I make them both for special occasions and for everyday meals. You just have to love browing then braising! Today we had them for Easter Dinner. I make the following alterations. I use 2 cups of wine (usually Old Vine Red, sometimes spendier varieties, it depends on your own palate) and enough beef/chicken stock to cover the shanks. My family loves the flavor the dish imparts on the carrots so I put in tons, enough for sides for everyone, sliced about 1/2 inch thick. Oh, I have in the past substituted tomato sauce, when out of chopped tomatoes, and besides the "chunk" factor, the flavor was still superb. As others have stated, you really have to watch the garlic and onions when carmelizing, be patient, watch the heat, and do not burn them, even a little, it will matter in the end. The sauce thickens up nicely after you remove the shanks if you turn up the temp and let it go, scraping the pan occasionally, this make take a while, I usually rice and whip my potatos while this bubbles away on the stove. This takes time, but is absoltely a top notch meal, worth of any restaurant. Nobody has ever had anything but compliments for this dish. Have fun, make it your way. That is what cooking is all about. I have used both my La Crueset as well as my Lodge Dutch ovens and have found no difference, fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
too much wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICKMCCJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States