Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This dish is absolutely delicious!I made it a few times for company and it made me "famous"among my huge family...lol.I added a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste to add a little more substance to the sauce.Served it with garlic mashed potatoes and some beautiful French green beans...A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I'm sure it's good, but Ill do it with just 1 glass of wine. Where I hail from there no wine worth ingesting, cooked or not, under $15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Best recipe I have found for this meat. One thing I do to thicken the sauce quicker is add corn starch to cold water and then add in the last stage to desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I found lamb shanks on sale & having never made them before, I decided to look up a recipe & give it a try. This is soooo easy to make & quite impressive. I doubled all the additional ingredients so that there was more gravy (I used 1 1/2 bottles of red wine instead of 2) I simmered the gravy for over an hour to get it to the right consistancy. Sometimes I serve it over polenta & sometimes I serve it over pasta. Wonderful company dish or half the recipe for just two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Outstanding! Leftovers shredded over pasta make an excellent ragout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe as written with two small exceptions, because It is hard to find lamb shanks in my area, I used butterfly leg of lamb cut into cubes. I braised the meat in two batches. Also, I used the other ingredients as listed including the fresh rosemary. Since I did not have fresh thyme on hand, I used dried. The first time I made this, my husband raved about it so much that he decided to make it again for guests. Our guests also enjoyed it. Before trying this recipe, we had never cooked lamb. Thank you for a very nice and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Couldn't believe how good it was. Offered these alongside ribs and a solid chicken dish and this was easily the star of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I followed the directions without thickening the sauce for the last 20 minutes and it was delicious. I used Greek seasoning and 2 beef bouillon (1cup of water per cube,) instead of condensed chicken soup and it was delicious. I used half a bottle of Merlot, the sauce was flavorful and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made lamb for the first time using this recipe. It smelt and tasted great. I had never eaten lamb before, so it was different. Not sure I like the texture of lamb, but this was defiantly a great way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States