Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Best recipe I have found for this meat. One thing I do to thicken the sauce quicker is add corn starch to cold water and then add in the last stage to desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I found lamb shanks on sale & having never made them before, I decided to look up a recipe & give it a try. This is soooo easy to make & quite impressive. I doubled all the additional ingredients so that there was more gravy (I used 1 1/2 bottles of red wine instead of 2) I simmered the gravy for over an hour to get it to the right consistancy. Sometimes I serve it over polenta & sometimes I serve it over pasta. Wonderful company dish or half the recipe for just two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Outstanding! Leftovers shredded over pasta make an excellent ragout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe as written with two small exceptions, because It is hard to find lamb shanks in my area, I used butterfly leg of lamb cut into cubes. I braised the meat in two batches. Also, I used the other ingredients as listed including the fresh rosemary. Since I did not have fresh thyme on hand, I used dried. The first time I made this, my husband raved about it so much that he decided to make it again for guests. Our guests also enjoyed it. Before trying this recipe, we had never cooked lamb. Thank you for a very nice and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Couldn't believe how good it was. Offered these alongside ribs and a solid chicken dish and this was easily the star of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I followed the directions without thickening the sauce for the last 20 minutes and it was delicious. I used Greek seasoning and 2 beef bouillon (1cup of water per cube,) instead of condensed chicken soup and it was delicious. I used half a bottle of Merlot, the sauce was flavorful and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made lamb for the first time using this recipe. It smelt and tasted great. I had never eaten lamb before, so it was different. Not sure I like the texture of lamb, but this was defiantly a great way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Tried it today. Reduced to for two and.... OH MY that was totally awesome. I will be making this again. Made it with Chantrelle , garlic and Parm / Romano Cheese grits. The answer is YES, YES, YES !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Very simple, very tasty. I added tomato paste to give a stronger flavor. Have made this recipe about 6 times now, and each time its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I thought this recipe was excellent. The meat fell off of the bone. I also made 1/2 the recipe and used dried thyme and rosemary, it was delicious. I also used a nice red table wine. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States