Rosemary Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
OMG! These are outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly. It's very quick and easy to put together. I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter to make my biscuits, and they turned out to be very cute. Perfect for soaking up butter, jus, or even eaten plain. Thank you for sharing this outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth S
Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These were excellent! I did use regular Bisquick, cream cheese, and milk because I didn't have the low-fat varieties. I didn't use all 1/2 cup milk, as the dough was pulling away from the side of the bowl without all of it. I don't think you need to knead it (haha) 10 times or whatever is called for since doing so usually makes for a tough biscuit. I didn't knead the dough at all. Also, pay attention to the 6-inch-square size. It's a lot smaller than you might imagine. I actually marked mine out on my cutting board, but if I hadn't I would have undoubtedly made the square bigger than 6-inch square. Also, 2 tsps of fresh rosemary equals 1 tsp dried rosemary, although if you're a lover of rosemary, I think you could safely add more. I will add more next time I make these and I WILL be making these again. ***UPDATE: I have also made these as drop biscuits without the cream cheese. Mix 2 1/4 cups baking mix with about 2/3 cups milk then add 2 tsps (or more, depending on your preference) fresh rosemary. Don't knead the dough. (That's my favorite part since I don't like to knead biscuits since it often makes them hard.) Drop onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes at 450 degrees. Fresh rosemary adds a softer flavor which I prefer, but both fresh and dried are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
A great basic biscuits recipe. My boyfriend can't taste rosemary (no sense of smell), so I swapped out the rosemary for some parmesan cheese, which was tasty. Next time I might even try some cheddar. Very easy, very adaptable. Also, the amount in this recipe makes four largeish biscuits for me; I think cutting into eight would be a bit small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
So fast and so good, I can't believe there are only 4 ingredients! Using my stand mixer, these were on the table in the same time it took to boil the water and cook my pasta...amazing. Next time (tomorrow) I'm going to try fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These were easy and tasty. I made my own biscuit mix (Bisquick = ick!!). I brushed them with olive oil as soon as they came out of the oven. Yum! I tried freezing the cream cheese as was suggested by the reviewer above, but don't recommend it since it took a long time to cut it in to the flour mixture. I'll use this recipe again when I need a quick bread item to accompany dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These biscuits are incredibly tasty and so easy to make! I've made them 2x now in the last week and want them again. I followed the recipe but found you need to increase the herbs. I also used an egg wash for a little extra color. One hint: Put your cream cheese in the freezer for ~1 hour prior to cutting. It is far less sticky and it helps chill your ingredients. It is important to have everything cold so you get the nice flaky texture. Oh, and it works great if you make 4 biscuits (instead of the 8) and slice them in half for sandwiches - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
easy and delicious. be sure not to overwork the dough. i had never made biscuits before and these came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I used full-fat Bisquick, cream cheese and 1/2 and 1/2 (I'm bad). Also substituted 1/3 as much dried rosemary instead of fresh. These are amazing! Fluffy and very mildly herbal. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJBOULANGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I just made these tonight and they were fantastic! They are fluffy on the inside and have a nice golden crust on the outside. I will definitely be adding these to my regular recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States