Rose Galletta's Ricotta Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
As I Irish girl I took this to my husband's Italian family (all great cooks) and it was the biggest hit of the Easter Dinner. They love Ricotta pie but said this was the best because it was light and had all the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This pie made a hit at Easter Dinner this year (2001).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This turned out wonderful. I made it for a Mother's Day brunch. Everyone loved it. I cheated and used a ready made pie crust and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Having never made a ricotta pie before i was excited to try this recipe. It might have turned out just as it should, but I thought the results left a lot to be desired. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Nice light and fluffy filling, but I have to cut down on the eggs. I've tried this a number of times and my best results were using 4 egg whites and two yokes. 6 egg yokes is too strong an egg flavor in the cheese. Folding in the egg whites separately is great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a really terrific recipe. The light lemon flavor was just perfect. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing! I cut a corner and used a premade pie shell. Next time I look forward to making the crust as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I made this for a small family get together. Everyone loved it except me. I thought the texture was a little grainy and not like other ricotta pies I've had in the past. I think that maybe the egg substitute I had to use for dietary reasons could have been the cause. Other than the "grainy" texture, the pie tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I was expecting a creamy pie, but ended up with a sweet quiche; although, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I thought the flavor was lovely, but the texture wasn't what I was looking for. I was looking for the dense, cheesecake-like ricotta pies; this was very fluffy and eggy, like a quiche. Maybe I did something wrong; or maybe it's just a regional variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I have made a change with this recipe that will change the texture slightly. I don't separate the egg whites from the yolks, and just mix in the rest of the ingredients. Also I have found that different types of ricotta will give you different textures. I have made hundreds of pies from this recipe without a complaint from one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States