Rose Galletta's Ricotta Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Wow! Delicious. It was wonderfully light, and slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
After reading the other reviews, I decided to cut down on the number of eggs that were whipped, as I was looking for a denser pie. I used 4 egg whites (vs. 6) and this pie was VERY eggy, with almost no flavor of the ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Loved this pie! It was light and fluffy and had just a hint of lemon flavor. I used 5 jumbo eggs instead of the 6 that the recipe called for. I also doubled the sugar because I could tell from tasting the uncooked filling that it would not be sweet enough for me. The crust was perfect. I usually dislike pie crust, but this crust was just the right texture and the sugar and lemon zest gave it a really nice flavor. I only used 1 teaspoon of zest in the crust because it was too much work to get the zest from the small lemon I had. And this pie filling does rise quite a bit, so make sure you don't overfill. I had a good amount of filling left over, so I put it in the fridge and ate it later as a pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
When you go to a 4th of July family reunion with a bunch of Italians you want to bring something they'll enjoy. My Aunt Teresa (one of the matriarchs of our family) couldn't believe her eyes when she saw Ricotta Pie on the table. She just HAD to have a slice. She absolutely LOVED it and asked for the recipe. I was the talk of the reunion because they just couldn't believe I knew how to make Ricotta Pie (they hadn't had Ricotta Pie since the elders in our family passed away). THANKS for making me so proud of where I come from and for making my family so proud of me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
i thought the pie tasted good, the texture was not what i was exspecting,i have never had a riccotta pie before, so next time i will try something else to get the creamy texture i like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I have made a change with this recipe that will change the texture slightly. I don't separate the egg whites from the yolks, and just mix in the rest of the ingredients. Also I have found that different types of ricotta will give you different textures. I have made hundreds of pies from this recipe without a complaint from one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I thought the flavor was lovely, but the texture wasn't what I was looking for. I was looking for the dense, cheesecake-like ricotta pies; this was very fluffy and eggy, like a quiche. Maybe I did something wrong; or maybe it's just a regional variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I was expecting a creamy pie, but ended up with a sweet quiche; although, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I made this for a small family get together. Everyone loved it except me. I thought the texture was a little grainy and not like other ricotta pies I've had in the past. I think that maybe the egg substitute I had to use for dietary reasons could have been the cause. Other than the "grainy" texture, the pie tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a really terrific recipe. The light lemon flavor was just perfect. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing! I cut a corner and used a premade pie shell. Next time I look forward to making the crust as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States