Rose Galletta's Ricotta Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Following the advice from many of the reviews, I cut down the eggs to 4 egg whites and 3 egg yolks. This created exactly the texture I was looking for. But it wasn't zippy enough for me, so I tripled the lemon juice for the second batch -- PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Serrano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
i really enjoyed this, but it was somewhat grainy and not a favorite of the gang. i will try it again, though! (i made a crust of almond flour, butter, and raw coconut, which was delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe, but the ricotta filling seemed too loose so I added a little more ricotta. Unfortunately, I didn't add more sugar so it lacked a little. I was very careful adding the ricotta to the pie shell because I didn't want it to overflow, but I think I could have put more in. I brushed the top pie crust with eggs so it was shiny/had nice color. I also dusted with powdered sugar. I would make this again and tweak it just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Is there a smooth ricotta and a grainy ricotta??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
If the recipe is followed, this pie is lovely, light and slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
by adding a small container of mascapone cheese(its the italian version of cream cheese) to the recipe and you will get the texture of the orginal ricotta pie that you would get up north in boston. I have made it like this now for years and it is the same as what I buy when I go up to Boston and go to the bakerys. If you are making this you also need a hardy crust that holds up to the ricotta pie. I use eggs, flour, shortening and the other basic ingredients for a pie crust. Linda fl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is delicious! I will definately keep on making this one. The only advice I give is to make sure the pie is COMPLETELY cooled in the fridge or you will have some whey in the bottom. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
VERY good! It does require a rather large pie plate because there was some left over. Next time I'll try not separating the eggs so it's not quite so fluffy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States