Rosa's Carne con Pappas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Not appetizing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Really good recipe but if you add a can of el pato red sauce OMG it becomes unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I added more veggies and took out the potatoes to make it less carbs and healthier. But I loved the original Idea. Because I had Herdez mexican cooking Sauces on hand, and not the salsa, I used the Padilla Chile sauce that gave it a smoky flavor. Added some green chile. VERY GOOD. We loved it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
We thought this was excellent. My husband who is Mexican and I picked this recipe out together. I was hesitant because of some of the negative reviews. First of all it seems this is one of those recipe you make by heart but don't really measure things out. So for a beginner cook it may not turn out as well following the directions exactly. I have been cooking by heart for 19yrs. Let me tell you what I did. I started by first browning the meat only for a couple of minutes(just brown quickly on the outside),remove from pan keep covered. Then I cooked the potatoes until lightly browned then added the onions, finished cooking until the potatoes and onions were soft. Then I put the meat back in(drained off all accumulated juices)and added the salsa and simmered for a couple of minutes. Also the salsa casera was confusing. Our store had different "kinds". Big 29oz cans hot(what I bought because I doubled the recipe), small 7oz cans hot and glass jars that resemble a picante sauce mild and medium. All said Herdez salsa Casera?? Well the metal can is more Rotel tomato type not picante salsa. Loved the canned casera we picked. Served in corn tortillas with sour cream on mine. Sorry for the long review. Just trying to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I was looking forward to trying this, but the cooking method is a little off in the recipe. I know that a 1" cubed potato will not fully cook in 12 minutes. At least not the ones I buy. I boiled the peeled cubed potatoes for 16 minutes before sauteing. I then cooked them about another 20 minutes before proceeding with the recipe. The onions also need additional time. I thought the beef would have been so much better sauteed until browned and then added to this. It makes the beef almost boiled cooking in the potatoes and onions. I wish I would have reworked that cooking step also. The sauce I used was Herdez red guajillo sauce. I had no problems with that except that it was a little too spicy hot after simmering. I think, this recipe could be better if re-worked some. I would also add peppers or other favorite flavorings to taste. It does make for a filling meal either way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
The recipe needs work. I tried doubling the recipe and the potatoes came out crunchy and need to cook an extra 30 minutes. The sauce is savory, but greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We made this tonight and loved it! I could only find hot not mild Herdez salsa so I added some roma tomatoes to lessen some of the heat. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is a quick solid meal that I have made many times. When I am really in a time crunch, I use frozen 'Birdseye Steam Fresh roasted redskin potatoes, lightly sauced' which adds a bit of garlic to the recipe. I cook them in the microwave as directed and then add them to my skillet once my meat/onions are finished cooking. One thing I would like to suggest is to use a good cut of meat. For me (and my husband) the quality of meat makes or breaks this dish. I've had great luck with cubed steak from the grocery store (labeled 'skillet steak' which is mechanically tenerdized) or would recommend a strip or a tenderloin. Also, I use a jar of chunky tostitos mild salsa which adds the right amount of heat for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good. I used Pace Picante Sauce because that is all I had and it still turned out great. I am planning on throwing the leftovers into some eggs and making a breakfast burrito tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Yum! This was really good. A dollop of sour cream is a must, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States