RO's Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Just made the meatballs: I was worried they'd be too sweet, so I made sure to get plain graham crackers (NOT honey or cinnamon), used a bit more meat, some salt, pepper, minced onions, and some fresh basil in the meat mixture. It was great and had more of a hint of sweet than an overpowering, which definitely would have been the case if not for the changes I made. It smelled wonderful while baking, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My son made most of this dish by himself, with me a relief cook just jumping in when he needed it. I asked him to increase the garlic in the sauce to a few more minced cloves. There were no other changes made. The sauce was simple and meant to not overpower the meatballs, which were obviously the star of this dish. My youngest boy was the only one who liked them. Everyone else thought they were oddly sweet and the grahams didn't pair well with the flavor of the parmesan. The graham flavor was really out of place with the homemade marinara. I appreciate the ease and playfulness of this dish and my son and I had fun making it together but it really wasn't a hit with all of us. I think the meatballs would have been better with a cream-based sauce (think swedish meatballs, maybe) or even as BBQ meatballs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My husband loved these! To me, they were a little "graham-crackery," I would maybe cut the graham down slightly and fill with a little breadcrumb... Overall they were delish! Definitely a great place to start for someone who's never made meatballs before (like myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
i did not like the meatball flavor of graham cracker. This dish went largely uneaten by the kids and hubby (and me) and went in the trash after dinner was over. There was nothing redeeming about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Loved the flavor of these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
These meatballs are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganLeann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oberlin, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was excellent. The sweetness from the graham crackers wasn't overpowering, but made this stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I only made the meatballs. I used 16 oz of ground turkey and added a little chopped onion and salt and pepper. These were too sweet for my family. My husband said they tasted like "meat candy" which wasn't really a great thing. Maybe if you only use 1/2 cup per 16 oz meat, they would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My husband said these were the best meatballs I ever made, and I've made a lot of meatballs! I bet they would be good as an appetizer in cocktail sauce, too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Loved the meatballs. Smooth texture and good flavor slightly sweet but we liked it. I definitely will make again. Didn't make the sauce. I had a jar and I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States