Rory's Most Wonderful Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was one of the first recipes I tried from this site a couple of years ago. I have used it regularly since then and everyone in my family loves it. I usually double the recipe and make it in a 9x13. I’ve used both fresh steamed and frozen broccoli with success but the frozen is certainly easier. When I double the recipe I just throw in the whole box, which is a bit over 1 cup but no one seems to mind. This is great leftover as well, which is always important to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This recipe is so delicious! I didn't have broccoli on hand, but had leftover corn on the cob and just added that. It was a HUGE hit at our party last weekend! I bet any vegetable would do great in this recipe. I also added a tablespoon of sugar to it. Thank you, I know I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Absolutely fabulous! My dtr brought the recipe home from a Senior party and begged me to make it. I tried it today on a house full of guests and they LOVED it, wanting the recipe for themselves. I was skeptical about the ingredients - but this is awesome! Thanks for a wonderful twist on the usually ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used 1½ eggs as I had half an egg I needed to use up. I omitted the broccoli and onion as I just wanted a plain cornbread to go with some chili soup that already had lots of veggies (plus we were out of both!). I used more like 4 TBS of margarine and I added maybe 1/4 cup of milk. It rose nicely and tasted great: the cottage cheese (I used small curd) added a really nice moistness to it, and you couldn't tell it was there... Even people who don't care for cottage cheese might like this! Add a little Country Crock, and you're good to go! Thanks, Rory, your recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
So good and so simple! I doubled this recipe and it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was good enough but hardly over-the-top delish. I suggest using slightly less butter and adding a bit of cheddar cheese to the mix to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was a great recipe and was very easy to make. I used a sweet onion which made the flavor that much better. It turned out very moist and delicious. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I didn't have any corn bread mix, but this sounded really good so I decided to wing it by adding my own dry ingredients. It came out so good! I didnt' really measure but this is approximately it - 1/2 cup corn meal, 1/2 cup flour, 2 tablespoon sugar, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt,and 1/2 cup milk. I will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I am not sure if I did something wrong..I really do not think so...but something was missing for me. It needed a bit of sweetness. I even came back to review the ingredients to see if I missed something important. For me..it was lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Excellent! I made this exactly as stated and it turned out perfect. Excellent with barbeque. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States