Rory's Most Wonderful Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I'm not sure what I can say that others haven't already but YUM! I love this stuff. Cornbread is a staple down here in the South and I love this version. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I have to be the party pooper on this one. Too much butter for one thing. The cake-like texture disappeared because it was just too butter saturated, making it heavy and very dense. Too much broccoli-can taste it very prominently, so that nice cornbread taste was completely overshadowed by it. Cottage cheese-why? It only left its white specks in the batter, making it look like little clumps of unmixed flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written, except that I used fat free cottage cheese, and it turned out fine. It only took a few minutes to prepare and it tasted good. I think it actually tasted better the second day. I ate it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My finicky boyfriend loved this version of cornbread, which I made as muffins. He could see the broccoli in it, but couldn't taste it and thought it was just an herb. Thanks for finding a way to sneak a few more vegetables into his meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made it for a Halloween get together with all our neighbors. I'm just now printing it out for everyone because they said, "It was the best cornbread I ever had!" My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCHANEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This is a very easy cornbread recipe. I omited the broccoli because it just didn't seem right but added shredded cheddar cheese. The onions got very sweet and the cottage cheese made the bread moist and fluffy. The flavor kind of grows on you. I didn't like it at first but the more I ate, the more I liked it. I might try this again adding a tablespoon of sugar just to add to the sweet onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Very good cornbread. I chopped up the brocolli real small and used a lot of onion. I was happy to finally use that cornbread muffin mix I had in the pantry for so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This corn bread was a big success. I didn't have cottage cheese on hand, so instead I used 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese, 1/3 c. milk and 2 T. sugar. My whole family raved about it. I would like to make it with cottage cheese next time... and there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Absolutly Great.I also used less butter(2T) and added about 1/4c shreaded chedder cheese. What my wife and I didn't eat, I microwaved for dinner the next evening and it was almost as moist as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Husband normally does not like cornbread "too dry", but he gobbled these up, they were very nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States