Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So easy and so good!!! Have made this with and without the avocado. Still good. I always use a different cheese (not a fan of blue or gamey cheeses). Another reviewer mentioned adding a teaspoon or two of water to the nut process - which really makes them foolproof too. GREAT SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Poovie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I served this on Christmas. Everyone absolutely loved it. They said it was the best salad that they haver had. I gave out tow copies of the recipe. I did leave out tha avocado though. One person was allergic to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Outstanding ... double the dressing ..used barlett pears and feta cheese .. didnt use any avacado.. Try it ..NO Disappointments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this salad this evening for myself, my husband, and adult son for dinner. It was absolutely delicious!! My son ate 3 servings of this salad and my husband and I ate 2 servings!! The combination of flavors is perfection!! Use any kind of leafy green you have on hand and it will work wonderfully!! I used a bag of romaine lettuce. I substituted crumbled feta cheese for blue cheese because that is what I had on hand. I also substituted diced shallot for the onion/garlic because that is what I had on hand. Along with others I think the dressing needs to be doubled (all but the olive oil-keep it at 1/3 cup). I used Dijon mustard which was delicious!! The candied pecans add so much textural flavor along with the sweet pear!! I added a handful of dried cranberries to my personal salad bowl and it was decish!! My husband and son raved over this salad!! And it is healthy too as well as yummy!! Highly recommend! Thank you for submitting this wonderful recipe!! I will be making it again often in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. It is a new favorite at my house! I doubled the recipe and used just 4 pears instead of 6....I also added more pecans...well because nuts are delicious!!! Since I doubled the recipe I tripled the dressing to be on the safe side...no reason to I had plenty of left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Excellent salad! Made it for thanksgiving with goat cheese and dried cherries. Made it again today but swapped in apples since i was out of pears and added turkey and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Tseitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving exactly as written. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent doubled everything in the dressing ingredients besides the salt, used country dijon mustard. Also doubled the pecans and cooled on parchment paper. We used a cranberry covered goat cheese which was excellent in substitution for blue cheese (which I do not like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and was a huge hit! I agree with keeping the avocado in. This salad is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this so many times and I never need to change a single thing. I can't say that about many recipes. Seriously, don't we all change our recipes here and there? Well, not this one. No need to change a thing. Just follow the directions, and you are golden. This is now THE salad for Thanksgiving. Can't serve anything else! It's that good. And it's that special. Now, because it is for Thanksgiving, you might want to omit the avocado because it just doesn't hold up.. Pears do - just soak them in 7UP or Sprite before hand (not water, not lemon juice!) Okay, so yeah, I do change one thing each time ... I never use wax paper because putting hot nuts on that kind of is asking for trouble. The wax melts a bit, right? It's a mess. Use parchment paper. The nuts will never stick. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States