Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I've made this a few times and always get great compliments. Even my boyfriend, who usually dislikes fruit in salads, enjoyed this one! I use gorgonzola cheese and red onions instead, and used 1 Anjou pear (I like the softness of this pear) for 1 bag of mixed greens (serves ~4). I also doubled the dressing without doubling the oil, and caramelized the pecans with ~2 tablespoons of brown sugar and ~1 tablespoon of water. Haven't had a chance to use avocado but will be making it again soon so we'll see how that tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I don't like bleu cheese so I used feta instead and I really enjoyed this salad. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rodeelh
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Amazing recipe. All time favorite. If you don't care for the Caramelized nuts you can skip that step. I sometimes substitute feta cheese and it works perfect as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My favorite salad ever! I use gorgonzola, and it's perfect. I was a little intimidated by caramelizing the pecans since I'd never done that before, but it was pretty easy. the first time, I cooked them a bit too long, and few turned dark. The pears are delicious in the salad. They can be a bit under-ripe, and no one can tell. Next time I make it, I'll use romaine lettuce, not leafy lettuce, so it holds up a bit better. I have made it for parties, and by the end, the lettuce gets pretty limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
We keep making this and all our friends love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
A delicious combination of fruit, greens and pecans. Dressing was easy to make and added a lot to the salad. I used bleu cheese and a spring mix of greens, no onion or garlic. Fun doing the sugared pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for my husband and me one night for dinner and we both loved it! I did follow another reviewer's suggestion and doubled the dressing but not the oil. I also omitted the avocado as I'm not a huge fan. This is my new favorite salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I had to make some modifications because I didn't have mustard or pecans, but overall this salad was delicious. I used cashews instead of pecans and I liked the salad dressing even though it lacked mustard. I also minced the garlic instead of chopping it. Next time, I'll try to have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Really great salad. The dressing is wonderful. I omit the onions because I don't care for them. Be sure to use a crisp pear. Also I used feta, as I am not a fan of blue cheese. Yumm-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stinkerbellelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States