Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Absolutely perfect as written. I took this to a pot-luck and of the three salads that were on the buffet table, this is the only one that completely ran out. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
We made this for a dinner party of 5 people and it was, hands down, delicious. We followed the exact recipe with the exception of the following modifications: - Used dijon mustard (no grains) from whole foods - Used gorgonzola cheese instead of blue cheese. I can't tolerate the taste of blue cheese. - Skipped the avocado. Some people mentioned needing to double the dressing. I did this but found it totally unnecessary. We keep the dressing on the side and don't use much. Half of the recommended would have been sufficient for us. Someone recommended adding water to the sugar when making the pecans. We did not do this and it came out wonderfully. In other words, I recommend following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a gigantic hit! I will absolutely make this again! I doubled the dressing recipe but did everything else as directed. I layered the salad as some reviewers recommended, because I was taking it to a dinner party. It looked beautiful. Just before serving, I peeled and added the avodado and gently tossed. I used the Danish blue cheese. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
its wonderfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I've made this a few times and always get great compliments. Even my boyfriend, who usually dislikes fruit in salads, enjoyed this one! I use gorgonzola cheese and red onions instead, and used 1 Anjou pear (I like the softness of this pear) for 1 bag of mixed greens (serves ~4). I also doubled the dressing without doubling the oil, and caramelized the pecans with ~2 tablespoons of brown sugar and ~1 tablespoon of water. Haven't had a chance to use avocado but will be making it again soon so we'll see how that tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I don't like bleu cheese so I used feta instead and I really enjoyed this salad. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rodeelh
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Amazing recipe. All time favorite. If you don't care for the Caramelized nuts you can skip that step. I sometimes substitute feta cheese and it works perfect as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My favorite salad ever! I use gorgonzola, and it's perfect. I was a little intimidated by caramelizing the pecans since I'd never done that before, but it was pretty easy. the first time, I cooked them a bit too long, and few turned dark. The pears are delicious in the salad. They can be a bit under-ripe, and no one can tell. Next time I make it, I'll use romaine lettuce, not leafy lettuce, so it holds up a bit better. I have made it for parties, and by the end, the lettuce gets pretty limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States