Roquefort Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by rhc
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Terrific recipe, it was a big hit for Christmas dinner. The flavors went so well together. I made extra pecans and used them on a french toast bake. I only made 2 changes: I used Feta cheese instead of blue, but I think the blue would have been great, too. After reading other reviews, I used a milder mustard, Gulden's Spicy Brown, and only 1 tsp. I originally wanted to use a Dijon, but it would have been too strong of a flavor. The dressing was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Domingue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I leave out the avocado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Too sweet!!And I have a sugar tooth. Maybe next time I will add another head of lettucs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Best salad ... EVER! I've made it about 7 times over the past year or more. Wouldn't change a thing! Always gets rave reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Was excellent. Pair it with a Broccoli Cheese soup or a New England Clam Chowder and Homemade bread. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Everyone loved this salad!!! Used three different types of pears just to try it...no could taste the difference so guess it doesn't matter what kind you use...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I had to leave out the avocado, which is what makes this different, because our avocado was tasteless. Try again when I have a haas avocado. Without the avocado, the dressing was bland and I would have used my regular balsamic viniagrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made for thanksgiving used gorgonzola instead doubled the dressing because I made for 8 people. Leaf lettuce was not available used romaine worked fine. Used purple onion instead of green sliced very thin, added pancetta cubes cooked until crispy. Did not have pecans used walnuts and everyone loved the sugar coating on it. Dressing is amazing with the salad. I plated it individually and when I cleared the plates all were empty! Highly recommend this recipe would make it again. I used dijon mustard for the dressing added more garlic we love it key is good quality olive oil and make the dressing the night before and shake well before serving - left at room temp. I plated the salad on ice cold plates and served the dressing on the side. When I cleared the plates ALL plates were empty. I cut the avocados and pears 2 hours before I plated it and none of it turned that ugly brown color. Not sure if you can do it earlier, did not want to take a chance. Very easy to make and taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Absolutely amazing! My new favorite salad. I left the mustard out once and it was still good. Slice those pears thin with a carrot pealer....great texture for those who don't like grainy pears. Not overpowering at all. Gotta stick with the homemade carmalized pecans. Store bought just aren't good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States