Roquefort Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I love these! I've made them for many picnics and other gatherings, and they're always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
The reason it has gotten some so-so reviews is that it is VERY important to use good quality Roquefort cheese (or Gorgonzola as one person suggested). If you don't there will be no flavor to these. This is an absolutely great recipe and all my friends beg me to make them but the proof is in the cheese. Don't skimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have made a variation of this for catered events. The changes are as follows: 4oz cream cheese and 6 oz gorgonzola cheese (adds a bit more "punch"). Cream the cheeses and they will stick to the grapes. Then I use toasted, chopped pistachios. An elegant hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana2007
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made these for a party and they were pretty well received. The general opinion was that the cheese mixture would be better on olives instead of the grapes. I did not have almonds so I did part of them with walnuts and part of them with pecans (both toasted) The recipe makes a large batch and they could be made at least a day ahead and kept refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I thought these were pretty good, but none of the other 7 people I served them to ate more than one, so.... They were also kind of a pain to make, as the cream cheese mixture is very thick, so coating the grapes, then getting them out of the coating and into the almonds was not an easy process. I added at least double the cream to try to thin out the mixture for easier coating, but it was still a little time consuming. I'm surprised at the number of reviews that claimed these were bland...my biggest issue was there was almost too MUCh flavor, overpowering the grape. These are def worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I used these as an appetizer for about 12 people...they all raved about them! My parents loved the leftover ones a couple of days later. I bought a bag of roasted, lightly salted almonds and just pulsed them in the food processor...easy and tasty with no roasting time! Thanks for the tip on using a toothpick to get them out of the mixture and coat in the nuts...will do that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Beyond easy to make and it really makes you look like a pro! Everyone that tried these (that like Bleu Cheese) oh, I used Bleu instead of Roquefort since to be honest it is cheaper, absolutely adored them. They are great to add to a cheese platter or just put in a pretty bowl to snack on with cocktails. They keep in the refrigerator very well too. They were still good after almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I have always loved cheese and grapes and these were a big hit at a friend's birthday party. I just dumped all the grapes into the cheese mixture and stirred them, then speared each grape with a tooth pick, rolled it in the chopped almonds and put it on a platter. No mess at all and they looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I made these for a Christmas party, and everyone loved them. I used pecans-toasted in the oven. I think they had more flavor than the almonds might have. They look so lovely and are easy to eat. I put them on a plate lined with red-leaf lettuce and sprinkled some dried cranberries on them for garnish and to make them look more festive. A nice change from the usual party appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I had a problem with this recipe, first because it seemed too bland, and then because it was somewhat messy to make. However, I love fruit and cheese. The second time I tried it, I added a 3-ounce package of cheddar cheese for more flavor and a bit of mayonnaise, rather than extra cream, for the right texture. It tasted very good, but if I make it again, I will serve the grapes and the Roquefort-Cheddar dip separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States