Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made it like the reviewer (the owner of the recipe) said to make it and my husband and I really liked it. This was something good to eat that was different from your traditional pot roast (which I still love). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
i would substitute chili powder for cayenne pepper which is is a bit too spicy for me. it would turn out the same...but mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I made this recipe using the red wine vinegar instead of water as NCBaking suggested. It was excellent and my roommate who is cuban thought the same! I will definitely make this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I add a can of tomatoes instead of paste. I prefer the whole tomatoes; just add the entire can, juice and all. That is usually all the liquid required. If I don't have whole tomatoes, I just use what is in the pantry. Onions, peppers, lots of garlic and pepper --- yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great recipe! As per other reviews, the more garlic the better. We put the Ropa Vieja on tortillas last night and are going to eat the rest on rice for dinner tonight. My wife cut up some fresh avocado to top the tacos and fresh lime is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
So glad I read your review before I made this. Your way sounded much better and was delicious. Sorry they messed with your recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NC baking girl
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is my recipe, except for all the changes they made, no water is added, and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar or dry wine should be added, and the peppers and onions should be added much sooner, to absorb all the flavors together, and I don't add any cayenne pepper, but do add garlic salt, garlic powder, and seasoning salt, done in this way it is 5 stars, done the way they listed, can't honestly tell you but doesn't sound right Also, some other helpful tips, I use the same kind of beef you get for pot roast, and don't cut it up, after about 7 pr 8 hours of cooking it will start to fall apart, at this point open up the crock pot and pull it apart with a fork (if it doesn't happen easily - it's not ready yet) then cook another 15 minutes or so to absorb flavors best. Also I've found that half a can of tomato paste OR tomato soup works. Once this starts cooking it makes a bunch of "sauce" itself. Adding some red wine didn't hurt either :) hope you enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this yummy dish and didn't make any changes to it. It was simple and easy to use. I enjoyed this recipie the way it was written. By adding several other ingriedents it becomes a whole different recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States