Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious and flavorful. A word of advice for those who are not crazy about peppers- this dish tastes A LOT like peppers. Cut down some if you prefer, you will be ok. I added 5 fresh garlic cloves minced and 1 whole can of tomato paste (and I regretted doing that, 1/2 can is definitely better in my opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe!! The only thing I added was 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper to add a bit of spice. My family loves their spicy foods!! Served with some home made refried beans and spanish rice in tortilla shells. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made this recipe as written except adding more tomato paste. Family loved this over rice! Will be making this often this winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was my first time making Ropa vieja, so i was a little worried about how it would come out. I had nothing to worry about, because it was great! My husband raved about this dish. We had it over rice, and it was perfect. I only used 3 peppers and half a large onion since hubby doesn't really like them, and it was still yummy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was the best. I put one pickled jalapeno in it for a little spice. There are just two in our household and we had it over rice and in a tortilla and my husband put it over scrambled eggs. I plan on making this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Followed the recipe by NC baking girl, perhaps she should keep to baking. Nothing incredible here. Sorry just sharing my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was delicious! Will be cooking this one again and again.... Thank-You for sharing this recipe. Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
i thought the peppers and onions would be too soft after cooking for so long. they were perfect. i made rice and served this in tortillas. great dish, great flavor. i used the whole can of tomato paste. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States