Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Tasted great. My husband didn't like eating the meat plain - he wanted it in a tortilla. Super easy to make. I guess I have a smaller crockpot because I could only fit in 1/2 the veggies. But it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The hardest part of this recipe is putting the fork down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I used to make this once a week but eventually my husband got tired of it. I love how easy it is, and really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This came out great- I'm glad i followed NC Baking Girl's review. Sometimes you really needn't change things. Thanks for the recipe NCBG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out really delicious! i was skeptical of the very little "liquid" i put in with the meat in the beginning, but in the end, the fat and juices from the meat itself provided plenty of yummy juice. also, i used a 4 qt slow cooker and not all the veggies fit! i would recommend using maybe half of each onion? i left some of it out myself. very very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes found on this site. I made this twice within a few weeks. The meat ends up being so tender and the flavors are so rich. I brought left overs to work and everyone loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've looked everywhere for a good ropa vieja recipe. My boyfriend is half Cuban and is very picky, because nothing is as good as his mom's, but he approved on this recipe. Its best if served traditionally, with white rice, blacks bean and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
One of my new favorite things to make. Super easy & tasty! I serve over rice or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was the best Ropa Vieja (and only) I've ever had! This was good. Hubby really liked. I was afraid it was going to be too vinegar like so I added a pkt. of liptons beefy onion soup mix. Good sauce and surprisingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious and surprisingly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States