Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of the overpowering tomato paste taste. I had to add a lot of extra seasonings to give it more flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I accidently bought chopped meat instead of a whole roast...shortened the cooking time and all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This also turns out well if you need to cook it in the oven! I had defrosted the meat the night before, but forgot to put it in my slow cooker. I set my oven at 275 and let it cook for a little over 2 hours. It was delicious!! Very moist and tender. Keep in mind, every oven cooks differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fabulous! We ate this for 3 days with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was not impressed...but my husband was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccomire09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock Valley, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
¡Fácil y deliciosa! Will make AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Awesome! I read others' reviews and added 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar, 14 oz can of canned tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, a splash of red wine, garlic, a beef boullion cube,and minced garlic, four bell peppers and 2 chopped onions. served with the juice of 2 fresh squeezed limes,and added cilantro and avocado. The beef cooked on high for 6 hours and fell apart, barely had to pull to shred it, it was so tender! Thanks for a great, easy, homemade meal! Leftovers are also amazing, have made this three times before this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellybelly08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fine base recipe, but served as-is, definitely lacks a certain "zing." I always need to add extra vinegar, salt, and pepper before I serve it, and it still feels a bit bland to me. There's something missing, but I haven't quite put my finger on it yet....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
A bland for my taste. I have to admit I forgot the garlic and I know that would have added flavor but this recipe reminded me of a plain pot roast, bland! The taste of the chuck pot roast was so overwhelming and disappointing. A true ropa vieja should be made with a flank steak. Trust me, I was born and raised on ropa vieja growing up in Miami. Trying so many different versions, this recipe was missing something, not just the garlic ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I personally loved it but my husband thought it was a little sweet. He doesn't like any sweetness with his meats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States