Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carmen
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I must say this was incredible!!!!! Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Amazing! I read all the reviews and settled on olives with pimentos and capers already mixed from Goya. I had to de pit all the olives but was well worth it. The flavors mixed already. I added the black beans and the plantains as suggested. Plantains were nice with the sauce. I am Celiac so I had to make my own Sofrito but all was really good. LOVED that I could eat this stuff. So often, there's always some ingredient I can't eat so very glad to find a recipe I can eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I was being lazy so I finished this in a slow cooker - I used a 2lb chuck roast & left it as is (don't need to) & browned meat in very little oil, approx 1 TBS, until it was nicely seared (if you heat your pan correctly before cooking anything, you don't need much oil and food won't stick to the pan...also, no oil splatter); dumped in my crock pot then sautéed veggies in remaining oil & added garlic once it softened a bit and cooked 1 min (or until I smell the garlic) before adding to crock pot; dumped everything else, except olives & capers, and cooked on high 2 hours; added olives, capers & cooked for another 2 hours on high before adding cilantro (I used way more, like a handful, because what's written won't do much flavor-wise... and, I had a bunch chopped already from making cilantro rice already) and let it finish on low until I felt like getting up and serving the family dinner (probably 30-45 min, maybe an hour). Served with cilantro rice, some Puerto Rican-style beans, and a bacalao salad (my pops-in-law is from San Juan, PR so I learned to cook a lot of Puerto Rican food). Also, I'd like to correct a previous comment: There's only ONE sofrito (it's the red, tomato-based cooking base). The green, culantro-based cooking base is called RECAITO (which is what I used for the rice). Side note, culantro is NOT the same as cilantro, nor is it used to describe cilantro-culantro is an herb I associate with pho because it's part of the veg/herb plate that comes with a bowl of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was ahhhhhmazing! I've never had ropa vieja so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was still delicious!! I slightly cooked my meat then tossed it in crock pot, in the same pan I sauteed the onion, green pepper, garlic then added the tomato sauce and sofrito until it boiled then I poured over the meat. I cooked on low for 10 hours. The only differece I made was thatI added 2 sazon packets, a sweet potato and a little extra adobe flavoring. I served with cilantro lime rice and black beans. A low maintenance winner in my book! I'd defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe don't add capers beef bullion or cliento I know I spelt that wrong lol but you get the idea. And always comes out amazing even do this recipe with chicken comes out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was great. I used stew meat and my slow cooker. First I browned the meat and put into cooker, then sautéed the onion and green pepper and put that with meat. Then did remaining ingredients, except for cilantro, and brought to boil and poured over meat. Cooked on high for 5 hours. I shredded the meat and added the cilantro and cooked for about 45 minutes on low. I made it with lime-cilantro rice and red beans. My husband was so impressed he did the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KYPepper
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. Tastes just like Miami. Serve it with black beans, plantains and hot Cuban bread (french bread if you have limited options). Leftovers are great the next day too. My family actually requests this meal when I make out a grocery list. Good stuff!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Last week I went over to my local Cuban restaurant and had their Ropa viega sandwich and was kind of craving it. I always look to Goya for their recipes. I used pretty much all the ingredients except for the Goya Sofrito, sorry Goya, but I can't stand their bottled sofrito so I used fresh Sofrito in place I also left out the capers because I didn't have any on hand. I also didn't use the Goya bouillon I used the Knorr one instead. Over all this dish was great. I made black beans and white rice to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenellesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
loved it. I make it every fall. great to freeze and warm up throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was OK. It did lack flavor. Only ingredient I didn't use was the capers. I used a slow cooker. Came out real tender. Just add more seasoning. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States