Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe don't add capers beef bullion or cliento I know I spelt that wrong lol but you get the idea. And always comes out amazing even do this recipe with chicken comes out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was great. I used stew meat and my slow cooker. First I browned the meat and put into cooker, then sautéed the onion and green pepper and put that with meat. Then did remaining ingredients, except for cilantro, and brought to boil and poured over meat. Cooked on high for 5 hours. I shredded the meat and added the cilantro and cooked for about 45 minutes on low. I made it with lime-cilantro rice and red beans. My husband was so impressed he did the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. Tastes just like Miami. Serve it with black beans, plantains and hot Cuban bread (french bread if you have limited options). Leftovers are great the next day too. My family actually requests this meal when I make out a grocery list. Good stuff!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Last week I went over to my local Cuban restaurant and had their Ropa viega sandwich and was kind of craving it. I always look to Goya for their recipes. I used pretty much all the ingredients except for the Goya Sofrito, sorry Goya, but I can't stand their bottled sofrito so I used fresh Sofrito in place I also left out the capers because I didn't have any on hand. I also didn't use the Goya bouillon I used the Knorr one instead. Over all this dish was great. I made black beans and white rice to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenellesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
loved it. I make it every fall. great to freeze and warm up throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was OK. It did lack flavor. Only ingredient I didn't use was the capers. I used a slow cooker. Came out real tender. Just add more seasoning. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was really good. I followed directions to a T. I think it really needs to olives/capers to better enhance the dishes flavor. I gave it a 4 out of a 5 only because it was a tab bit to greasy in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Goya, you never cease to amaze me! I had no idea what to expect from this recipe since I had never had Ropa Vieja before, but I can see making this over and over again! It is so full of flavor. I wouldn't change a thing. I made the recipe exactly as written and I'd recommend not omitting the olives or capers, unless you're totally opposed to them or deathly afraid. They really make the dish! I didn't have to add any seasonings at the end, the flavor was just perfect. If you're thinking the consistency looks too thin, waiting until you shred the meat...that really thickens it up. The house smelled amazing while this was cooking. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe!!!! It reminded me of the Cuban restaurant I went to in Miami. I didn't put the olives or capers in the recipe, but followed everything else in it. I even used the leftovers for tacos a few days later, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was delicious. My husband kept saying over and over again how this was one of the most delicious things he has ever tasted. That's huge coming from that man. I omitted the olives, but only because my family wouldn't have ate it if I did add them. However, I would have loved them in this dish. I added a lot more garlic then it called for and some more of the Adobo seasoning on the finished product. It was good before, but just a slight bland without a little more seasoning for my taste. The cooking time is perfect too. I used skirt steak that I sliced into strips. I let it simmer on low heat for 1.5 hours and the meat melted in your mouth. I served this on white rice and with some corn on the side. Don't let the list of ingredients scare you. It's not a hard dish to make at all! Plus I found all my Goya products at my local Krogers in the Hispanic aisle (although if you can find or make similar, you can substitute, but I LOVE Goya, so I don't).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States