Root Vegetable Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was delicious! Even my boyfriend, who was suspiciously eyeing me as I was cutting the celeriac, loved it. I kept the main ingredients the same but made a few changes to the sauce. I subbed coconut milk for heavy cream, added two cloves of garlic, a pinch of cayenne, about 1/2 tsp of salt, a few shakes of crushed red pepper, and some fresh ground pepper. Oh and I also subbed the fresh thyme for dried thyme (about 1/3 tsp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This came out really good!! I used all the veggies suggested and split it into two smaller casseroles. I split the sauce between them and added a little more cream since I needed more liquid. I mixed the parmesan in with the layers. I baked covered at first and uncovered for the second half at the lower temp and it came out perfect. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was just okay. It smells amazing, but I found the taste almost sweet, which just isn't for me. To be fair, I did use completely different vegetables (just what I had on hand) - turnip, parsnip, carrots and onion. Also, I only used half and half instead of heavy cream. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
too liquidy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
quantities seemed off... didn't love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was ok. Not spectacular. I used acorn squash instead of butternut because that's what I had around. I just didn't feel like this had as much flavor as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I really liked this but altered it significantly. Used yams, white potatoes, celeriac, and artichokes; took out the cream; subbed olive oil for the butter; and added garlic and black pepper. Very tasty fall side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I liked this because I like the veggies that went into it, but I didn't think the broth mix added much flavor. I used homemade broth and coconut milk instead of cream (my standard sub), but I found the thyme and nutmeg didn't stand out at all. I also subbed sweet potato for half of the red potato, and it really added to the dish. Thanks, but I don't plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was rather good. I made it exactly as written except I used a different squash. I did find that it started to brown too quickly in my oven. The temp seemed a bit high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was very good--warm and comforting and flavorful. Some changes I made: Didn't use celeriac Used dried thyme instead of fresh Didn't know how to spread all that butter in the pan, so I spread some of it in the pan, and dumped the rest into the saucepan with the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States