Root Vegetable Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Perfect as is! Everyone LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
OH YUM! I used the root vegetables that I had on hand so I did not use jicama or turnips. Doubled up the others. Used about 4 Tablespoons of olive oil and a Tablespoon of fresh snipped rosemary. Perfect and simple and I will make this again & again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was really delicious! I left out the potatoes because I was also serving garlic mashed. My supermarket didn't have jicama. I substituted fennel. It was amazing, a great complement to roast lamb for Easter dinner. The fresh rosemary is very important, don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazing, it will surprise you! My husband was skeptical (to say the least) when he saw me cutting up all the root vegetables. I followed the recipe exactly, my husband and I were astounded at how good this turned out. I cut the jicama and turnip into med-small chunks, about thumb size, to help them bake easier. I baked my vegetables in an 11x15 pan for about 70 minutes and stirred them several times while they baked. The vegetables became sweet and slightly caramelized, so good! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had received some fresh root veggies in a local produce box I ordered, and decided to use them in this recipe. I did not have jicama, so I replaced it with fennel as another reviewer suggested. I used fresh rosemary and thyme from my herb garden- about 2 Tbsp each. I used a little less olive oil and salt than called for in the recipe, simply based on my personal tastes. Save for those slight adjustments, I stayed true to the recipe and really loved it. Everyone did! The veggies get that sweet, caramelized flavor when they're roasted. Just delicious. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was really good and will make again. The next time, I shall put the turnip and parsnip in about 15 minutes ahead of the rest of the veggies. They took a bit longer to cook. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This works with all types of vegetables. I usually use unpealed redskin potatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, acorn or butternut squash, shallots or onions, garlic, & mushrooms, tossed with olive oil & whatever spices you like best. Green beans & beets are good, cauliflower & broccoli work, too, but may take less time to bake. All vegetables taste better roasted until they caramalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was amazing! Everyone enjoyed it. I used it as a main dish and served it over rice. Definitely something I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OpalSparks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Delicious. I bake mine longer and prefer to steam my carrots a bit prior to roasting as I don't want them to be hard. Beets make a nice addition. I always add some onion too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Absolutely LOVE THIS. nothing I like better than roasted vegetables...I saw this when looking for a good recipe using jicama(I had run out of ideas for my favorite vegetable) Have used other veggies for roasts never even thought of jicama,stupid me, after trying once I will never forget it ....WONDERFUL....Will more than likely make once a week from now on...thanks. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Parr Ludlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States