Root Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
I thought I would try something totally different for the first time, and I picked this recipe. It was absolutely wonderful!! The flavor was fabulous and Rutabega's are not on my hate list anymore. Please give this recipe a try, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
After reading the reviews I added extra herbs, V8 juice and some chicken soup base. It was definitely not bland. I thought it was delicious and healthy and plan to make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
When made with a can of tomato juice instead of the water, this is AMAZING. I've made it several times. I use a bag of coleslaw mix instead of grating cabbage. So convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very easy and tasty recipe. It was a little bland at first, but adding salt and pepper spiced it up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Don't be put off by the 'interesting' combination of ingredients. It was pretty tasty, and very filling. I did add worcestershire, salt, pepper, and grill seasoning, as well as a little more ketchup and less water. This was a great way to use up our farm share this week. Makes enough to feed about 10 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Oddly enough, we liked this dinner. It didn't smell the best while cooking but it tasted good. I did add my spices to our preference but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Whoever said this recipe makes 6 to 8 servings must have been joking. It nearly filled my 5 quart dutch oven! I also thought it was odd that this recipe didn't call for any salt or pepper. I added some anyway, but it didn't help much. It was still pretty bland. I won't make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I think it may taste better as left overs. Flavor was not as bland as I had expected, but 4.5 stars is a little for a bunch of vegetables in a pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QASIMARA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States