Root Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
I thought I would try something totally different for the first time, and I picked this recipe. It was absolutely wonderful!! The flavor was fabulous and Rutabega's are not on my hate list anymore. Please give this recipe a try, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
After reading the reviews I added extra herbs, V8 juice and some chicken soup base. It was definitely not bland. I thought it was delicious and healthy and plan to make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
When made with a can of tomato juice instead of the water, this is AMAZING. I've made it several times. I use a bag of coleslaw mix instead of grating cabbage. So convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very easy and tasty recipe. It was a little bland at first, but adding salt and pepper spiced it up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Whoever said this recipe makes 6 to 8 servings must have been joking. It nearly filled my 5 quart dutch oven! I also thought it was odd that this recipe didn't call for any salt or pepper. I added some anyway, but it didn't help much. It was still pretty bland. I won't make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Oddly enough, we liked this dinner. It didn't smell the best while cooking but it tasted good. I did add my spices to our preference but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I think it may taste better as left overs. Flavor was not as bland as I had expected, but 4.5 stars is a little for a bunch of vegetables in a pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QASIMARA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Don't be put off by the 'interesting' combination of ingredients. It was pretty tasty, and very filling. I did add worcestershire, salt, pepper, and grill seasoning, as well as a little more ketchup and less water. This was a great way to use up our farm share this week. Makes enough to feed about 10 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States