Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
WOW, that was unexpectedly soooo good. My husband doesn't really love porkchops but he said he would have liked a big pile of them. I told him there was a secret ingredient (RB) and he forbid me to tell him because they were so good. I followed the recipe exactly (except I didn't have hot sauce) and they were wonderful. A++ and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Mitchell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This makes for the tastiest chops! I only added a squirt of orange just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I let the chops sit in the root beer for about 6 hours. WARNING- Do not make if you don't love good food! EDIT- I thought I should add I let the chops marinate for 6 hours because that is the amount of time I had. Defintely will do it for longer next time. Also, I used a charcoal grill, which lends a nice flavor in my opinion. In addition, my pepper mill is filled with a combo of black, white and red pepper corns, which is a wonderful combo that adds another flavor dynamic. Finally, I used habanero hot sauce (Big Ben's BBQ brand- which I highly recommend), instead of chipotle flavored. Very tasty. A tip of my hat to you Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Delicious! Great reduction sauce! It was sweet and had just enough of a bite to notice. The hubbie and both kiddos liked it as well. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie Morin
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I thought this was great. My husband didn't care for it. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Morin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
A keeper! My husband and I made this for my mother visiting from out of state. I did use a tsp of the chipotle tabasco sauce and I still felt it could have used a little more kick but my Mom thought it was perfect as I had made it, a good balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qween of My Destiny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Super DUPER yummy chops! I'm not even all that great at grilling, but these really did turn out fabulous! We used some left-over, un-fizzified homemade rootbeer, and it worked great. We'll for sure be making these again. We had company over for this dinner, and everyone loved it! 5 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
You know...I don't like pork, AT ALL...I tried these and these are FANTASIC..my husband loves them, the neighbor loves them...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are awesome! I made them as is with no changes and can't wait to make them again. Even my picky eaters ate them. The looks on their faces were priceless when they discovered the secret was root beer! Thanks Ken for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
KEN! You did it again! :D I had to do these on my indoor grill because (although it's mild for this time of year) it's still a little chilly to do anything outside. I added a litle too much hot sauce, which gave me a heart attack (but I'm not cooking if there's not at least one of those per recipe)! I added a little more brown sugar, root beer, and a couple shots of lemon juice, which cut the hot. (Hubby's Irish descent, and I'm Norwegian so our taste buds are VERY boring!) I overcooked the chops, but that was my fault! The flavour and tenderness are amazing! Thanks again, for spicing up our week with "to die for" food! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States