Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Man oh man were these good! I followed the directions from Ken's review. They were very tasty and had the right balance of flavors! Thanks for the recipe which I will be making often and thanks for introducing me to chipotle hot sauce yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I had thin pork chops and followed the recipe. I was worried that the thin chops would be too easily over done on the grill but hubby came through! We picked these up and ate them with our fingers like a pair of heathens and we loved every bite! Good recipe and thank you very much, Ken. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
After talking to Ken about my experience with this recipe, I decided on reviewing it two ways. First of all, as written, while still producing a tender finished dish, I give it a 4, for the fact that, even beyond "personal taste", I think this would be a bit bland, but with SO much potential. That said, it turns into an easy 5 star with Ken's changes, which he states in his review. So, I added more chipotle hot sauce, a fair bit of black pepper, more Worcestershire sauce, and I did marinate the chops in all of those ingredients, not just the root beer. Followed the rest of the recipe as stated. We used Barq's root beer because we much prefer the "bite" to it, as opposed to a sweeter one. I would do it all the same next time, other than omitting the brown sugar, but, again, that's only a personal taste in not liking things as sweet as some, do. That does NOT lower my rating. :) Thank you, Ken, for the addition and the clarifying review. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These chops were excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except I let them marinate overnite. Even my picky eater son who usually will not eat pork chops loved them. Thanks for sharing your recipe Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent! Followed Ken's notes from 2/20 and these chops were delicious. Tender, juicy and full of flavor. A couple of the kids were here for dinner and wanted to know when we would be making these again. It will be soon and often! Thanks for sharing, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made as written with Ken's changes (see Feb. 20/10 review), My only regret was I didn't marinate the chops longer. The reduction is delicious. A new twist for grilled pork chops. Next time I plan on dividing the sauce - some for basting and thickening the rest with a bit of cornstarch to make a gravy. Thanks Ken. terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Good! I marinated the chops for 18 hours in rootbeer and Worcestershire and they were very flavorful. Served over white rice to soak up the sauce. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
very tasty will make again thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These pork chops definitely had a different kick to them. I marinated them in root beer, salt, pepper, and Worchester sauce while I was at work. I followed the directions for the sauce exactly, increasing the hot sauce slightly. These pork chops were very tender and I really enjoyed the sauce. Next time I will increase the hot sauce because I like my food on the spicier side. Overall, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I followed the directions exactly except i did add a little more hot sauce because we like that little extra kick. I will definitely be making these frequently this summer. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States