Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Because it's unbelieveably cold out, I can't grill these like I would have liked. So....what I did was combine all the ingredients (with a couple tablespoons of cornstarch wisked in), braised my pork chops and stuck everything in the crockpot. Only change I made was adding in some sliced onions and minced garlic that I sauteed in the pan that I braised the pork chops in. I didn't need the extra salt as my beef broth and the worchestershire was salty enough on it's own. This made for some very tasty and moist pork chops but it needs a little something else. I can't put my finger on it. Maybe a tablespoon of dijon? A bay leaf? I liked the combination of the root beer and beef broth, it was sweet and beefy all at the same time.....it's just missing just a little somethin'-somethin'. This went really well with mashed potatoes. NOTE: I also used Campbell's beef broth only because it's double strength and has a stronger flavor than your usual boxed broth. I used a quality root beer, too. I think that makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Nice change of pace. We really enjoyed the flavor. I did add more chipotle hot sauce and worcesteshire sauce and I am glad I did. It might not have had enough flavor without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
DELISH! Another Ken winner! Used pork steaks instead of chops. Excellent! Mixed all ingredients with two cups root beer and marinated two steaks overnight. Upped Worchestershire sauce to a tbsp. and hot pepper sauce to one tsp., added four cloves minced garlic and two sliced scallions. Grilled five minutes on each side. Reduced marinade to thin bbq sauce consistancy. Nice grilled pork change all round. Thank you Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This recipe is decent. It makes a moist pork chop but the flavor is just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. DH loves root beer soda, does not like pork,but he did like them this way. Chops were very tender and flavorful. Great recipe Ken, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent! We loved it and it was so moist even though we cooked it a bit too long. It looks fabulous coming off the grill. This is a keeper for my next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I really wanted to love this recipe. I love root beer and I'm always looking for new ways to do pork chops. I followed the recipe exactly - marinating in the root beer and then using fresh root beer to combine with the other ingredients and reducing the liquid down to 3/4 cup and using it as a 'glaze' while grilling. The end result was -- ok. The chops were a little on the sweet side - but that's really all there was. It seemed like a lot of effort for only an 'ok' end result. For us, they were average - not bad - but not particularly special. **8/23/2010 update - I used the leftovers from this in the Pork Salad Croissant recipe from this site. The leftovers worked GREAT in this salad. The sweetness of the root beer was a nice complement to the spice of the chutney in the recipe and worked well with the apple and grape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
WOW! i didn't think i'd like this cuz i dislike root beer....but the meat was so tender and juicy...I marinated it for 4 hours and then cooked it with the sauce made on the stove (couldn't wait for it to be only 3/4 cups so i had 2 cups of sauce) i put half of it on the pork chops covered and baked at 350 for 30 min, took out, added more sauce ,and cooked for another 20 min....turned out so delious my boyfriend was in heaven..THANKS ken for the recipe definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kait20

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I'd printed this recipe off and gave it to my dad for him to make sometime (I'm not big on grilling, myself) and he finally got around to it tonight. It was a winner! We all ate it and enjoyed it. My dad said it took more work than he usually likes to put into cooking supper, but I consider that a good thing - much better than a bottled sauce or marinade. Thanks for the great recipe Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
hey these were FABULOUS...dh was sceptical at first but not anymore...we really liked them...it was a yummy change from my ususal...i did as ken (the submitter) suggested and i will adding this recipe to my regular chop recipes...so glad i made them...thanks for the recipe ken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States