Root Beer Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
4/11/2010: First let me say that I hate pork chops. I make them occasionally because my children love them, but I usually eat a couple bites and then give the rest of my portion to the kids. NOT TODAY! This recipe is amazing! The weather worked against me, so I couldn't get my charcoal hot enough for a nice sear on the outside of the chops and I also got impatient and didn't let the sauce reduce far enough, so it was a little thin, but I still enjoyed my portion so much that I finished the whole thing! Thanks, Ken, for giving me a pork chop recipe I can enjoy as much as my kids!! 7/13/2010: UPDATE - I made these again a couple days ago, using Ken's suggestions for adding worcestershire to the marinade, upping the chipotle sauce in the glaze, and liberally salting and peppering the chops before grilling. I also had better success with getting my coals good and hot (it WAS 100+ degrees outside, after all!) and was also more patient with the glaze, so it reduced nicely and got very thick. With the changes and the increased patience on my part, these were even better than five-star good! I had leftovers for lunch at work today and the chop was so tender I was able to cut it with a plastic knife. These are now most definitely going to be in our regular meal rotation. Thanks again, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a great way to prepare pork chops. The root beer gives it a sweet taste, but it's not overpowering - just right. Everyone from my 2 yr old ds to mom really enjoyed these. Thanks Ken for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very tasty. The chops cooked up very nice and juicy. Great flavor. I increased the chipotle sauce to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Pretty good. Gave a new flavor to our same ol grilled chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My grill has been buried in an pile of snow 8 feet deep since December. It finally broke free so I was looking for the perfect recipe to welcome it back and boy was this it! These chops were so moist and tender with just the right amount of sweetness. We enjoyed them tremendously. My one complaint? I wish I had made MORE! Chalk this one up to another great recipe from Ken! Please keep the recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
KEN! You did it again! :D I had to do these on my indoor grill because (although it's mild for this time of year) it's still a little chilly to do anything outside. I added a litle too much hot sauce, which gave me a heart attack (but I'm not cooking if there's not at least one of those per recipe)! I added a little more brown sugar, root beer, and a couple shots of lemon juice, which cut the hot. (Hubby's Irish descent, and I'm Norwegian so our taste buds are VERY boring!) I overcooked the chops, but that was my fault! The flavour and tenderness are amazing! Thanks again, for spicing up our week with "to die for" food! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are awesome! I made them as is with no changes and can't wait to make them again. Even my picky eaters ate them. The looks on their faces were priceless when they discovered the secret was root beer! Thanks Ken for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Wish I would have read Ken's update before I made these. They were very bland even after marinating 6 hours. Will remake with ken's changes and reviw again. I agree with Werfly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
First of all, Thank you Ken! I did make this recipe with ribs instead of the chops. I marinated the ribs for 2 days. Really good tasting. Take my advise, if you make the ribs, bake them, then finish on the grill. I know better, the sugars caused mine to get a little too scorched. The family ate them and said they loved them anyway! Thanks Ken! I will make these again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I let the chops sit in the root beer for about 6 hours. WARNING- Do not make if you don't love good food! EDIT- I thought I should add I let the chops marinate for 6 hours because that is the amount of time I had. Defintely will do it for longer next time. Also, I used a charcoal grill, which lends a nice flavor in my opinion. In addition, my pepper mill is filled with a combo of black, white and red pepper corns, which is a wonderful combo that adds another flavor dynamic. Finally, I used habanero hot sauce (Big Ben's BBQ brand- which I highly recommend), instead of chipotle flavored. Very tasty. A tip of my hat to you Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States